Favourite Quotes (Day 1)

Ahoy, Mateys!

Welcome aboard my ship, the SS Issippi. I am the Captain; you can call me Paul E. Parrot.

I have no clue why I started this post like that, but it’s too late to change it! Let’s head out to sea.

I’d like to thank Cass from Uniquely Cass and the Dutch Lion (Reid) from Dutch Lion Sports for nominating me to share my favourite quotes for the next three days!

Be sure to check out their blogs by clicking the links above! They both write words that I like reading, and I think you’d like them too.

The Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote each day)
  • Nominate 3 new bloggers each day

It’s supposed to be one quote per day, but I was nominated twice, so I’m going to do two quotes per day and if anyone has a problem with that, you can walk the plank!

Sorry, I really don’t know why I’m like this.

Here is my first quote.


“Home is the place where the hole is filled.”
– Rowdy Roddy Piper 


Rowdy Roddy Piper was a very popular professional wrestler. Last year, I read a book about his life which was (mostly) written by his children because Roddy passed away before he could finish writing it.

A sense of home had always eluded him. His children went to the same school as their grandma, yet they couldn’t understand why their home didn’t feel like home to him.

This quote hit home with me. I like it.


“When you win, say nothing. When you lose, say less.”
– Paul Brown


To me, this quote is all about being a humble winner and not a sore loser. You could also take it out of a sports context and apply it to something else, like social media.

I’m nominating:

Catherine Micqu

The Finicky Cynic

Squid’s Cup of Tea

That’s all for today! Thanks again to Cass and Reid!

Let me know what you thought of the quotes. I’ll be back tomorrow with one more strange introduction, two more quotes, and three more nominations.

For now, I bid you a Chips Ahoy!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Favourite Quotes (Day 1)

  1. Hira says:

    Ahoy mate! Paul Brown was a wise man ..Is it in the name 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. gigglingfattie says:

    Great quotes, but super sad that home never felt like home to that wrestler.

    You should save your pirate talk for “national talk like a pirate day” I’m not sure when it is, and yes I could google, but where’s the fun in that? Plus I have a “no googling before I finish my morning coffee” rule. Its a good rule haha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Squid says:

    Both of those quotes are really good! I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of your quotes…
    Thanks for nominating me! We’ll see when I get around to it, haha 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really enjoyed this 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dutch Lion says:

    Shiver me timbers! You’re the best Paulie.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: Favourite Quotes (Day 2) | The Captain's Speech

  7. rebbit7 says:

    Hey, thanks for the nomination! Will get to it soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Favourite Quotes (Day 3) | The Captain's Speech

  9. Pingback: Favorite Quotes (Day 1) – The Finicky Cynic

  10. Little Rants says:

    Ahoy Mateys (imagines Paul saying that in an OTT Australian accent. Dies.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.