Favourite Quotes (Day 2)

On the 12th day of Blogmas my followers gave to me…

Twelve drafts unfinished
Eleven likers lurking
Ten Canadians cackling
Nine posts a posting
Eight awards a mystery
Seven spam comments
Six views per day
Five onion rings (blah!)
Four ketchup packets
Three blind mice
Two trips to the loo
And a blog post nobody reads

Oh, whoops. I didn’t know anyone was listening.

Since you’re here, you might as well join me for Day 2 of my favourite quotes! You might even get a participation balloon out of it.

Note: This is a BYOB event, which means you must Blow up Your Own Balloon. I can’t do it. I’m quite terrible at it. I wrote a blog post about it in June 2015. You can chase that goose later. 

But for now, it’s time for the main event of the evening!

I’d like to thank Cass from Uniquely Cass and the Dutch Lion (Reid) from Dutch Lion Sports for nominating me to share my favourite quotes for three consecutive days!

Make sure you click the links to their respective blogs! Even if it means you end up reading their blog instead of the rest of this post, do it!

The Rules

  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote each day)
  • Nominate 3 new bloggers each day

It’s supposed to be one quote per day, but I was nominated twice, so I’m going to do two quotes per day and if anyone has a problem with that, then no balloon for you!


“When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.”  

– Lao Tzu 


Who we are right now is a collection of everything that has happened to us in the past. When we let go of that – our old limits, habits, and beliefs, we give ourselves room to grow and reach our full potential.

That’s what I take away from this quote.


“The true test of a man’s character is what he does when no one’s watching.”

– John Wooden


I think this one is self-explanatory, or at least, it should be.

I’m Nominating:

Walking Through Life

Riddle from the Middle

Catherine’s Blog

I’ll be back tomorrow for Day 3, so you can look forward to another strange introduction, two more quotes, and three more nominations.

Feel free to share your thoughts on today’s quotes!

Here is your participation ballon -> 9

Ever notice how the number 9 looks like a balloon attached to a string? Me neither. Impress your friends.

Sayonara.

Day 1 | 2

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Favourite Quotes (Day 2)

  1. micqu says:

    Both of these quotes are deep. Thank you for sharing them.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Dutch Lion says:

    Dude, a couple thoughts here:
    1. You posted this at 3:42 am? Wow, that’s what I call an…….early night.
    2. John Wooden was the greatest. When he was still alive a few years ago I claimed he was the greatest living person. Then a few months later he died at about 100 years old if I remember right. Nonetheless, he was a magical hero. So who takes Wooden’s place as the current greatest living person? Discuss.
    3. The number 9 does indeed look like a balloon. Nice!
    4. Thanks for the support. You are the best. Probably one of WordPress’s finest bloggers/writers/comedians/Canadians (the country, not the NHL team)/Maple Leaves (inside joke), (the NHL team, not the tree leaves) fans/good will spreaders. PS What is a “good will spreader”? Is it a type of grass fertilizer? or maybe a a knife for spreadable cheeses?
    5. I’m weird. Sorry for the strange comments. Lately I’m into writing really odd replies under bloggers posts.
    6. Bizarre tendency: Before I post most comments, I copy the entire post by highlighting and hitting “copy”, just in case after I press the “Post Comment” button my post somehow doesn’t post. That way, I don’t have to remember and then retype the entire thing.
    7. In college, I remember losing so many, many “term papers” due to computer malfunctions in which my posts wouldn’t save and they’d be lost to the technological dustbin. It’s funny to think this was happening in the mid-90s in Champaign, IL since some of the original computer nerds were inventing stuff like the internet there at Illinois at that time. I think this guy invented Netscape in the early 90s which was one of the first browsers. So anyway, maybe it was the limited computer technology in the 90s. Maybe it was just me being stupid. Maybe they didn’t have a “Back” button, but maybe they did? Maybe it didn’t autosave like it does nowadays. Maybe I was just an idiot, but there were other idiots too. I recall most people being in these giant computer labs on campus and every few minutes someone would scream from losing their work. These were the days before flash drives and USB ports. We used to use floppy disks which evolved into the smaller, harder “floppy” disks which weren’t really floppy at all, rather they were covered in hard plastic. We also had dot-matrix printers. I have memories of finishing these “term papers” at 1 in the morning on the night before the paper was due. Sometimes I was one of the last to leave, but not usually. Most nights these smart U of I students were there procrastinating until the wee hours of the morning. Then everybody feared for their lives as they sludged home in the freezing central Illinois slush. I always worried I had forgotten my paper on the dot matrix printer or forgotten my floppy disk in the hard drive or that I was being followed home to the dorms by a stalking zombie. Looking back, I guess I made it home safely. No worries.
    8. Thanks for reading. I like #8. I might need to write an entire post about these college memories.

    Reid “Dutch”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Paul says:

      Man this comment is longer than my post lol. I’ll try and keep this short:
      2. Bob Barker
      4. Haha all I know is I use a spreader for peanut butter and I think it’s good
      5. I don’t it all the time don’t worry!
      6. That’s smart!
      7. LOL what a story! That should be a blog post. I remember floppy disks being a thing when I was a kid but I wasn’t using computers back then/didn’t have a use for the floppy disk. Can’t imagine losing a term paper due to saving issues. My fear was that my printer wouldn’t work lol such a contrast.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. That second quote is one I have had drilled into me since I was little, I don’t think it could be any more true if it tried! ✨

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Favourite Quotes (Day 3) | The Captain's Speech

  5. Pingback: Favorite Quotes (Day 2) – The Finicky Cynic

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.