Breakdown

Are you lost on the side of the road
can I take you some place you call home
feeling empty and bare it’s a lonely place up there
you can do this, I know you, I’ll show you
but now there’s water falling above you
it’s beside you, it’s on you, it’s in you
and it’s hot, and it’s cold, and it’s making you old
on your shoulders, in your face
I never said this was a pretty place
it’s in your hair, it’s on your skin
just make it go away
you’re scratching all over now
not enough fingers to reach all the places, huh
it’s hot in here now, do you feel it
but you’re standing there sh-sh-sh-shivering
fall to your knees now
just another itch
it’s just another itch
you’re okay, you’re okay, you’re okay

I’m okay, I’m okay, I’m okay
let me out, let me out
I’m sh-sh-sh-shaking
it’s so hot
let me out
the water
the water
but I’m sh-sh-sh-shivering
and this is not how it was
and I can’t brea-
I can’t brea-
oh my God, I can’t breeeathe
gaaaasssssp
it just keeps coming
I turn and I turn and it’s still there
falling on me
crushing me
it’s all spinning
the room is sp-sp-sp-spinning
am I stutt-tt-tt-ering
stutt-tt-ering
just open the curtain, somebody open the curtain
it’s fogging up now, it’s fogging up
call for help
help
help
no one’s there
sh-sh-sh-shaking
sh-sh-sh-shivering
can I stand still
let me stand still
sit down
up
down
breathe in
breathe out
where’s the air
I think I’m ssssweating
shhhhivering
shhhhaking
shivering
shaking
shi-ver-ing
sha-king
ssshhhiiivvveeerrriiinnng
ssshhhaaa-

water hot cold shoulders old
hair face skin home spin
crush fog fall curtain call
shiver shake shiver shake
breathe

where am I
what happened
this isn’t my life
this is the side of the road
and I’m lost.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Breakdown

  1. onebigstressball says:

    This made me want to cry

    Liked by 1 person

  2. leegschrift says:

    For me it was a cold shower and everything falling into place. Fine, fine, can I have some more wine. Oh probably not, anyway don’t think you a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lee Dunn says:

    You could have written my obituary here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Little Rants says:

    Do you sing? This is really good. Oh wow. Paul! You just keep getting better and better.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. reocochran says:

    Oh, my! I sense doom, pain and confusing circumstances. Home is not this, to me! Being lost is hopefully a temporary state of being for this poor soul, Paul.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ely says:

    There’s so much emotion in this and so much cake in my kitchen…. I don’t know what to feel!! It’s like sadness and cake and that doesn’t mix! This was intense Paul! I really like getting to know this side of you! I’m not gonna lie everything you did the mini stuttering parts I envision you with one hand over your ear and the other spinning a turntable like a Dj “re-re-re- remiiixxxxx” and then the bass droppps.
    Such a badass.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ely says:

      Every time*** you did the mini

      Liked by 2 people

    • Paul says:

      LOL I would be the most awkward looking DJ you’d ever see in your life. “Are my pants baggy enough, I feel like I’m going to trip.” – Me probably
      This one was intense. Don’t eat the cake though!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ely says:

        I never eat the cake!!! These are orders! Lol!! I bake and make but never dare to take! ::::::drops the whisk:::::

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paul says:

        Ahhhh this just reminded me, I was planning to do a cake rap in your letter, but I forgot because I got so caught up in writing about cats and stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ely says:

        Ok you owe me a cake rap, yo.
        Frost it up in buttercream like a man from the snow though bro.
        Whisk it high whisk it low whisk it fast whisk it slow;
        Whisk it till the battle drops down to the flo. ( to flo.. ohhhhh)
        Now-
        C to the a to the k to the e.
        There ain’t no sugar coating
        Yo my name is Ely
        And no it ain’t Eli
        Ya’ll better get it right
        I’m bringing all that heat
        From my oven yea 350 degrees up in here tonight.

        Ok I’m done. What just happened?!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paul says:

        You made a mistake
        Nah you made a cake
        This is DJ Paul
        I just want a slice that’s all
        I’ll feel it in my stomach and I’ll know
        It’s like woah woah woah woah woah woah woah
        From my oven yeah, 98 degrees up in here
        Served

        Who are we?

        Btw, love the c to the a to the k to the e line lolol

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ely says:

        I DONT KNOW WHO WE ARE BUT WE ARE THE REASON HUMANS WERE INVENTED!!! so let’s keep on KEEPIN’!

        Ely- outtttttt

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.