Paulo – Coming Soon

I have to admit, I’m sitting here with the biggest grin on my face right now. I’m also quietly chuckling to myself in the dark and pretending that I don’t have a headache. It’s one of those deep breath chuckles, where you sound like you’re gasping for air, but aren’t. Try it at home.

Anyway, let’s get down to business.

Last year, between March and June, my blog was the place to be. I’m not going to lie, it’s the truth. Almost every single day it seemed like I had a new idea for a blog post.

I quickly made it my mission to see how ridiculous I could make my posts before people would start to revolt because, surely, people would revolt. And you know what happened?

NO ONE REVOLTED.

I was writing the craziest things. Fun posts. Social experiments. Mock poetry. Stories that I made you believe were true until the final paragraph told you otherwise. I turned song lyrics into sentences using a ridiculous formula.

Just absolute nonsense.

And you guys ate it up. To be honest, it had me terrified. I don’t know how I come up with half of the things I do, but to know that other people found it entertaining made me worry a bit for humanity.

Not a lot, but a bit.

It’s all in good fun, though.

So then, one day in June, I created a post called: Paulo’s Kitchen: Soup.

I had seen many bloggers sharing recipes and going through detailed steps of how to make something so delicious, that I couldn’t help myself. I had to do the same thing. Except, I didn’t. I turned it into a joke and created my Italian alter-ego, Paulo.

Yes, I realize it should be “Paolo”, but spelling it out as “Paulo” just fits the shtick. Don’t question the shtick. Just go with the shtick. Man, I love the word “shtick”.

You guys loved that post so much I felt compelled to write another one. I called it: Paulo’s Kitchen: Pancakes.

And yet again, for some reason, you guys ate it up. Pun intended.

But I never continued with the series. I don’t like overdoing things. I felt that if I kept writing “Paulo’s Kitchen” posts, they would eventually get stale.

Or I was just too lazy. Yeah, probably that.

The character stuck, though, even months after the fact. Some bloggers started calling me “Paulo” when they commented on my blog. Sorry, you have me mistaken. Meanwhile, others have been asking me to bring back “Paulo”.

And if you know me at all, you’ll know that I’ll eventually surrender to things I secretly want to do, but only after I put up a struggle (for show). I’m weird. Deal with it.

Out of everything I’ve written on this blog, those two Paulo posts have stood the test of time (8 months).

So, I’m bringing Paulo back. It might be a disaster, or it might not be. That’s entirely up to all of you me, I guess.

I still don’t know when he will be returning, exactly, but I’m sure it will be soon.

If Paulo’s Kitchen has as much interest now, as it did last June, I might start writing some fiction and send Paulo into different settings.

Honestly, I’m a bit jealous of Paulo. I feel like he is more popular than me, which is a big hit to my ego.

Nevertheless, I’m willing to sacrifice for the greater good of the team.

By this point, I’ve lost half of you. You’re all wondering why I’m making a big deal out of this, and quite frankly, so am I. But let’s get that thought out of our heads and think of something else.

Pizza.

Alright, that’s all. Stay tuned. Paulo will be cooking up a (snow)storm before you can say “synonym for cinnamon” five times fast.

This entry was posted in Food, Humour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Paulo – Coming Soon

  1. That Tiny Giant says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaas!!!! Well tbh. Paulo is more likeable than Paul is. (Yikes.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You never know what will stick when you throw it against the wall.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. rebbit7 says:

    Yes! I have missed Paulo’s Kitchen. Can’t wait for the new post. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Miriam says:

    Okay, so as a new follower I missed out before. Not now. Bring it on again Paulo, I’ll be waiting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yay! I’ve missed Paulo and his magnificent recipes—all two of them. Ever since he headed North to the Yukon on a mission to prepare famous ice dishes for the Athapaskans, his legend has grown. There was even a recent report in the Klondike Glacier about his exploits in cooking his version of 241 pizza for some polar bears. A fine dinning experience was had by all in the—just below—balmy below 0 temperatures. I can’t wait for his return!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Barb Knowles says:

    I think the series should be “Paulo’s Kitchen: Recipes for the Single Man and Everyone Else”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LosiLosLoco says:

    Ok. You have me grinning too! :] You have a really great sense of humor but, allow me to maybe give a suggestion as to why we eat up your ridiculousness. It goes best by what Maya Angelou said, “When people show you who they are, believe them.” If we don’t know you in person, all we really have to go off of to understand who you are and your tastes is your content. Even if it is ridiculous, that’s what you gave us. And for some of us, ridiculousness is good, refreshing and fun. Others think otherwise. I happen to like ridiculousness!
    If anything, don’t fear for humanity. Be glad humanity is not completely dead inside and takes fun in your jokes 😉 And for some weird reason, the posts we least expect to do well, do the best. 😯
    Currently going on a spree of reading this weekend so I’ll be back (like Paulo)!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Well, this might be one of the nicest comments I’ve ever gotten. Thanks for that! I’m really lucky that I can be as ridiculous as I want to be here and the bloggers who read my words will go along with it. It just motivates me to write more and see how far I can go. And then I love posting poems and showing a completely different side of me/my writing. Thanks again for this comment, it made my day.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.