3 More Things I Thought Were True When I Was A Kid

A few days ago I wrote a post called: 10 Things I Thought Were True When I Was A Kid. Since then, I’ve realized I left a few off the list. So, here are three more things we can add to that list of youthful innocence.

1. We all know the song “Blue” by the Italian music group Eiffel 65, right? It’s the one with blue aliens singing about how thankful and happy they are to be blue. Got it? Good.

Well, the lyric goes: “I’m blue da ba dee da ba die, da ba dee da ba die, da ba dee da ba die.”

Got it?

When I was a kid I thought they were saying: “I’m blue, if I were green I would die, if I were green I would die, if I were green I would die.”

And after they repeated themselves three times, I thought to myself, “Wow, it’s a really good thing they aren’t green! Good thing they are blue and everything around them is blue! It would be a shame for them to die just because they were green. They probably don’t pass gas too often.

2. I thought my toys were like the toys in Toy Story, in the sense that they all got up and interacted with each other whenever I left the room.

There were times when I left my toys in ridiculous positions. I’d lean action figures against the wall, but not before flipping them upside down, maybe turning their head around, and bending their limbs in different directions.

I figured that these toys would struggle getting back into the exact position I left them in, by the time I returned to them. This was my way of trying to catch them.

I never did catch them out of position. They were too good and too flexible. Probably all that yoga they did.

3. One of my favourite movies is Father of the Bride starring Steve Martin. I don’t know why it is, it just is. It’s a classic 90s movie with a nice classic feel to it. Every character wasn’t wearing a vibrant colour like they do nowadays.

Anyway, as you can imagine, the movie was about a wedding. Well, the two wedding planners were named Hank and Frank. One of them was played by Martin Short. I think it was Frank.

However, as I mentioned in my first post, accents threw me off back then. And in this movie, Martin Short put on accent.

Every time he said Hank and Frank, it came out as Honk and Fronk. So, I thought their names were Honk and Fronk! Didn’t even second guess it. Ah, of course that’s what their names are!

A few years ago, I realized their names were actually Hank and Frank and broke the news to my parents. THEY ALREADY KNEW. I was the only one hanging on to Honk and Fronk.

I just looked up their character names and they are officially: Hanck and Franck. Everything has been a lie! Is nothing sacred anymore?

If you’re interested in seeing Fronk’s hilarity in action, click here and skip to the 1:20 mark.
___________________________________________________________

If I think of more embarrassing things that I thought were true, I’ll share them with you. Until then, be wary of the toys in your house. They do stuff when you’re not watching.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 3 More Things I Thought Were True When I Was A Kid

  1. Anonymous says:

    I am sitting in the airport. (dropping off Paul and his girlfriend Anya) laughing out loud. People are staring!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a dork. I’m so rude. These are funny and endearing

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Little Rants says:

    OMG. I thought that toys came alive too. I swear Green Bean (my teddy bear with a green bow on her head) actually took morning walks before I woke up, because I’d go to sleep curled up with her and wake up to see her perched on top of the dresser. (Later – much, much, MUCH later – Dad confessed to moving her around meticulously each morning while I snored. Not really snoring but you know. God I talk a lot.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this. You definitely made me remember the sense of wonder and awe that I had as a child. What a nostalgic post! I laughed and smiled all the way through.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jess says:

    So I’m reading this at work and I had to contain myself when I read the “Blue” song lyrics rewritten by one man named Paul. That is hilarious and completely understandable. I still get excited whenever I hear this song.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh my goddddd. That first one😂That was my favorite song and to this day it is still one of my favorite. I love to freak people out by going “I’m blue! Da ba de da ba die!” People that know the song laugh, people that don’t…look at me like I’m a freak…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

