The Captain’s Quiz 4: Under Your Bed (RESULTS)

You don’t want to read an introduction, you want to read the results. So, let’s get to the results of The Captain’s Quiz 4: Under Your Bed!

Let’s meet the trick-or-treaters who are vying for the coveted Captain’s Quiz Crown.

The Challengers

Sabrina – Not-so-teenage Witch
Scarecrow

Aaron – The Confusing Middle
Scarecrow

Venus – MidLife Cat Lady
Scarecrow

T – No Love For Fatties
Scarecrow

rebbit7 – The Finicky Cynic
Scarecrow

Ben – Meerkat Musings
Jack-o’-lantern

The Defending Champion

Bill – A Silly Place
Scarecrow

Scoring

  • For each question, you will receive a standard score of 1, 3, or 5.

  • Hidden Bonus Points will be introduced for each question and awarded if you qualify.

  • Here is an example of how your scores will be written for each question:

    Name: (Total Points); Standard Score + Bonus Point + Bonus Point
    Paul: 9; 5 + 2 + 2

Let’s take up the quiz!

The 10 Questions

1. Rank your top five favourite Halloween candy and explain your choices.

+2 if you included Aero bars
+2 if you said you’re not much of a candy/sweets person

Sabrina: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
These all seem like standard candy, yet I’ve only ever tried Kit Kat. You can yell at me later.

Aaron: 7; 5 + 0 + 2
Not liking chocolate has finally worked in your favour!

Venus: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
Fun fact: American Smarties are called Rockets in Canada. Our Smarties are just wider M&Ms.

T: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
Thanks for adding photos! I’ve never had Nerds, but I enjoyed shaking the box.

rebbit7: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
You asked, who doesn’t like the combo of peanut butter and chocolate? Well, me. What are the odds!?

Ben: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I had to squint, but I do believe you listed 5 candies. Personally, I’ve never had a Snickers or a Mars bar.

Bill: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I looked up 3 Musketeers because I couldn’t picture what it looked like and found that it’s, apparently, the unhealthiest candy bar there is. I felt obligated to pass this along.

2. In horror films, the victim normally runs upstairs while the killer is chasing them around the house. If you were to write a “what not to do” handbook for future characters in horror films, what would your chapter titles be?

+2 if one chapter title is “don’t run upstairs”, or something along the lines of that

Sabrina: 5; 5 + 0
I’d love to see a horror film where the characters just “mind their own business”.

Aaron: 7; 5 + 2
You chapter titles are great, especially the one about electricity.

Venus: 7; 5 + 2
“Stop screaming” is a wonderful tip, especially when it’s obvious that no one but the killer is around.

T: 5; 5 + 0
Don’t answer the phone! Oh, that’s good. Even when they know the killer is calling, they answer. Ugh.

rebbit7: 5; 5 + 0
Yes! Why do they always yell out, “Who’s there?” They are way too keen on engaging their attacker.

Ben: 5; 5 + 0
I would read this book in a second. “Do not read from the ancient evil book” – I let out an audible laugh.

Bill: 5; 5 + 0
Way too many trips to cemeteries at night. Someone always has to fall in a grave, too. Why not stick to the path/road?

3. If there was a monster under your bed, what would it look like?

+2 if you describe the face
+2 if you say the monster looks like someone else

Sabrina: 7; 5 + 0 + 2
Molly the doll had a hidden agenda, I’m convinced.

Aaron: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
Never trust a pile of clothes and shoes.

Venus: 7; 5 + 0 + 2
I had to look up what an Alien Fuggler was. Don’t try this at home.

T: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
I had to read that three times to get the full picture of Monster Frank. No hot chocolate for him, though. It’ll stain the carpet.

rebbit7: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I can vividly picture black smoke grabbing my ankles and pulling me to the Underworld.

Ben: 7; 5 + 0 + 2
The monster would look like you, huh? This feels like a Black Mirror episode.

Bill: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
You just made me realize that dust bunnies are probably long, lost, evil relatives of the Easter Bunny.

4. I Know What You Did Last Summer follows a group of friends who are trying to keep the details of last summer under wraps, while being stalked by a killer with a hook. What is something you did this past summer that you did not share on social media?

+2 if the activity was something outside the house
+2 if it was with others

Sabrina: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
A+ to naps.

Aaron: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I feel like you’re trying to cover up an encounter with a fisherman now.

Venus: 1; 1 + 0 + 0
I respect the fact that WordPress is your only social media.

T: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
Just when I thought no one was going to cash in on these bonus points…

rebbit7: 1; 1 + 0 + 0
Smart answer, you don’t want a creepy fisherman after you! Just look at Aaron being all deceptive. Something definitely happened there.

Ben: 1; 1 + 0 + 0
You can’t think of anything that you didn’t share? Think harder! No, I’m kidding. I’m not mad, I’m just sad you didn’t say “put my shoes on” because that would’ve earned you full points.

Bill: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
New movie idea: I Don’t Know What You Ate Last Summer

5. If you were to provide a trick instead of a treat, what would your trick be?

+2 if it’s a magic trick

Sabrina: 5; 5 + 0
“Something just cute and harmless” – I want David Blaine-level illusions, Sabrina!

Aaron: 7; 5 + 2
Magic! I hope you would keep the quarter from behind their ear.

Venus: 5; 5 + 0
Blindfolding someone and putting their hands in cold cooked spaghetti to make them think it’s worms is devious and I like it.

T: 1; 1 + 0
“None” is not a trick, I checked with the judges.

rebbit7: 5; 5 + 0
The non-costume costume as a trick. I like it!

Ben: 3; 3 + 0
I will accept “dancing badly” as an answer, though it is not a full-blown trick.

Bill: 3; 3 + 0
The judges are unsure if this is a trick, but Wilt’s stats are too intimidating to give you a 1.

6. How long can you wear a Halloween costume before wanting to change into something else? Please provide a specific amount of time.

+2 if it’s less than 2 hours

Sabrina: 3; 3 + 0
8-10 hours is a long time! Was looking for a more specific time.

Aaron: 6; 5 + 1
You gave two specific answers; one of them was under 2 hours. You get 1 bonus point.

Venus: 3: 3 + 0
All day? I could never.

T: 6; 5 + 1
Like Aaron, you gave two times and one of them was under 2 hours. Thanks for being specific.

rebbit7: 7; 5 + 2
Bingo has been called! 1 hour, 28 minutes, 35 seconds. Look at that specificity in one answer! And under 2 hours! I never thought I’d see it. Thank you.

Ben: 7; 5 + 2
1 hour. You did it, Ben! Full points. It’s coming home.

Bill: 5; 5 + 0
Ahhhhh if you had said 1 second less, you would’ve earned 2 bonus points.

7. What Halloween decoration could we, as a society, do without?

+2 if I agree with you

Sabrina: 7; 5 + 2
Fake spider webs. Okay, I’ll agree. They mean well, but most times just look like a blob of fluff.

Aaron: 7; 5 + 2
Yes! The fake arm/leg hanging from the trunk has to go. Feels like unwanted attention once you leave your car in a parking lot, too.

Venus: 7; 5 + 2
Ouija boards. Yes.

T: 7; 5 + 2
Anything motion activated. I can get behind that.

rebbit7: 7; 5 + 2
Absolutely, yes. TP-ing is ridiculous and such a waste.

Ben: 7; 5 + 2
Clown-themed mannequins and figures can hit the bricks, I agree, even if I don’t find clowns scary.

Bill: 7; 5 + 2
I have nothing against skulls, but if they were to disappear, I wouldn’t miss them.

8. The songs, “Thriller” and “Monster Mash” have really cornered the market on “background-song-for-a-slideshow-of-student’s-Halloween-costumes”. What song was at the top of the Billboard Top 100 list the year you started high school? (You can find this on Google). Did you like the song?

+2 if I know the song
+2 if I like the song

Sabrina: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
The Mariah Carey song, “We Belong Together”, was overplayed and though there was nothing wrong with the song, I just wasn’t a fan.

Aaron: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
I saw the sign it opened up my eyes I saw the sign.

Venus: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
Another one bites the dust. I don’t hate it, but I don’t know if I’d say I like it, either.

T: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
“All For You” by Janet Jackson. I didn’t think I knew it – still not 100% sure I do – but the chorus whisper of “All for you” has turned the lights on in some part of my brain.

rebbit7: 3; 3 + 0 + 0
Unfortunately, I was looking for the #1 song of the year, not the month. So, the answer would’ve been “Irreplaceable” by Beyonce. However, thanks for putting in the work to name three different songs! The Soulja Boy song was 14 years ago, huh?

Ben: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
I mean, who doesn’t like “I Will Always Love You” by Whitney Houston. It’s basically the uncrowned anthem of Earth.

Bill: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
I know “When Doves Cry” but I’m not so familiar with it as to say that I like it.

9. What is your favourite Halloween-themed movie?

+2 if I’ve seen the movie
+2 if you say Halloweentown

Sabrina: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
What…what is ParaNorman? Had to Google it to make sure it wasn’t a typo for Paranormal Activity.

Aaron: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
Halloween (1978). Saw this at school for the first time. Very fun.

Venus: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
I don’t recall seeing Friday the 13th, but I’m 51% sure I have, so you get the bonus points.

T: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I have never seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show.

rebbit7: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
Bingo has been called yet again! Full points for Halloweentown.

Ben: 5; 5 + 0 + 0
I have never seen The Ring, though I have heard of it. I have let you down.

Bill: 7; 5 + 2 + 0
Very good. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown is a classic.

10. Bobbing for apples is a cliché party game that poses multiple health risks. If you threw a Halloween party, what activities would you provide?

+2 for each activity
+2 if they are all safe

Sabrina: 17; 5 + 10 + 2
Five wholesome activities.

Aaron: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
A murder mystery dinner huh? Now I’m even more suspicious about that fisherman. WHAT ARE YOU HIDING, A-A-RON?

Venus: 11; 5 + 4 + 2
A costume contest and scarioke sound safe to me!

T: 13; 5 + 6 + 2
Three reluctant activities just for the sake of the quiz. I get it, I’d never throw a Halloween party either.

rebbit7: 13; 5 + 6 + 2
A homemade version of a pumpkin spice latte wouldn’t be complete without a misspelled name on it.

Ben: 9; 5 + 4 + 0
Halloween-themed piñatas is a million dollar idea. The judges have declared that drinking games are unsafe, even though they’re sure you would be responsible.

Bill: 9; 5 + 2 + 2
Endless amounts of sweets before sending everyone home. I like it; you don’t want people to hang around longer than they need to.

Bonus Questions

1. Tell me a scary story.

You will receive a score between 1-10 based on how scary I’d find it if it were to be acted out.
10 is “extremely scared”.

Sabrina: 6
Good story. Hearing the doorbell, but not having one, is jarring. However, I was more scared by who could be at the door and if they’d walk away if I didn’t answer, though that wasn’t apart of your story. It was just in my head.

Aaron: 7
Did everyone get together and say, “Let’s make Paul the main character in our scary story”?

Venus: 5
Kudos to you for have the guts to touch a ghost and knock its head off, even if it did turn out to be clothes on a chair.

T: 7
You guys definitely colluded to include me in your stories. I will not eat your Nutella or sushi, thank you.

rebbit7: 7
An insidious virus that kills billions and no internet that kills billions more…maybe I should’ve given this more than a 7.

Ben: 10
You’ve seen some stuff in your life, haven’t you? That was phenomenal. The way you wrote it made me feel like I was the main character of the story, even though I wasn’t.

Bill: 6
I feel like I should be more fearful of a bearded horde, especially when you used the word “reckoning”.

2. Put two minutes on the clock. Type as much as you can about anything pumpkin-related, before time expires.

1 point for every 10 words you wrote
5 points if you wrote the most amount of words

Sabrina: 15; 10 + 5
106 words about carving a pumpkin/relieving stress by stabbing it. Congratulations for typing the most words!

Aaron: 9
98.5 words, I appreciate the honesty! Impressive use of the word “dollop”.

Venus: 4
42 words – glad you enjoyed the pumpkin seeds!

T: 8
81 words. You went the list route, which was a wild ride and infinitely more difficult to accumulate words, but it was fun. You spelled “pumpkin” about 7 different ways before I lost count.

rebbit7: 2
20 words. You also went the list route. I was not expecting that at all, but now two people have done it!

Ben: 2
23 words. You started with, “I don’t need two minutes.” OH, BUT YOU DID.

Bill: 7
75 words. I feel like “pumpkin spice” is misleading because is pumpkin even a spice, or is it just a collection of stuff you can find in your kitchen cabinet?

3. List all the costumes you’ve ever worn for Halloween.

2 points for every costume

Sabrina: 32
16 costumes! Impressive. They all fit your personality.

Aaron: 24
12 costume. They also fit your personality.

Venus: 26
13 costumes. I chuckled at your explanation of Octomom.

T: 16
8 costumes and a hippo onesie.

rebbit7: 16
8 costumes. I appreciate your minimalist approach.

Ben: 4
2 costumes. A wizard and a cockerel. My goodness, the questions I have.

Bill: 4
2 costumes. Baseball player and football player. I relate to this on a deep level.

4. Are you a scarecrow or a jack-o’-lantern?

This was secretly a Dare To Be Different Challenge (dun dun dunnn)
5 points will go to the person/people who answered in the minority

Sabrina: 0
Scarecrow

Aaron: 0
Scarecrow

Venus: 0
Scarecrow

T: 0
Scarecrow

rebbit7: 0
Scarecrow

Ben: 5
Jack-o’-lantern

Bill: 0
Scarecrow

Final Standings

Hidden Bonus Points in parentheses. They will be the tiebreaker.

1. Sabrina – 119 (18)

2. Aaron – 109 (19)

3. T – 98 (21)

4. Venus – 95 (16)

5. rebbit7 – 85 (16)

6. Ben – 82 (14)

7. Bill – 75 (10)

Congratulations to the WINNER and NEW Captain’s Quiz Champion, Sabrina!

The not-so-teenage (witch) dream has come true!

The crown is now yours!

What’s this? We seem to have some sort of commotion. It’s between T, the winner of the first two quizzes, and Bill, our now dethroned champion! I can’t quite tell what they’re arguing about, but I’m sure they’ll fill us in.

By the way, if anyone wants to suggest that this was rigged because a blogger with a blog called, “Not-so-teenage Witch” won the Halloween Quiz, I will laugh in your face via a computer screen and not feel bad about it.

Thank you to everyone who participated in this quiz! It was nice to see people were excited for its return. I will try to bring you The Captain’s Quiz 5 sooner, rather than later!

Congratulations again to our NEW Captain’s Quiz Champion, Sabrina!

This entry was posted in Captain's Quiz and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Captain’s Quiz 4: Under Your Bed (RESULTS)

  1. Bill says:

    Wow … I knew Halloween wasn’t my best thing, but it’s a humbling fall from grace.

    Congrats to Sabrina on her win. Wear the crown well.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. peckapalooza says:

    I feel pretty good about second place… Might be my best quiz performance yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gigglingfattie says:

    I am too exhausted and feeling bleh to respond to this insult lol *folds arms and turns away*

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Bex says:

    Well deserved Sabrina! Congrats!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sabrina B says:

    OMG HEY I’M THE WINNERRRR!!! WOOOHOOO It does feel thematically appropriate, but all that means is I’m very consistent!!

    Don’t think me winning makes me forget you haven’t tried SEVERAL MAJOR HALLOWEEN CANDIES PAUL. PAUL DO I HAVE TO BRING YOU SOME. IS THAT WHAT I HAVE TO DO. (also watch ParaNorman it’s stop motion animation and really good)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. rebbit7 says:

    Thanks for doing this, Paul! And yay, I got two bingos! I’m satisfied with my score, and I’m glad I took part in the quiz. 🙂

    PS In my defense, I didn’t know that PSL was spelt “pumpkin spice latte.” I call it PSL so much that I don’t bother to look up the correct name behind the acronym! 😆

    Looking forward to *potentially* a Christmas quiz! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Your answers were absolutely clutch! Unlocking bonus points I thought we go unclaimed. A win is definitely in your future.

      There will 100% be a Christmas quiz and hopefully one in November as well!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: The Captain’s Quiz 4: Under Your Bed (RESULTS) – The Captain’s Speech | Ups Downs Family History

  8. Pingback: Time to face the music – A Silly Place

  9. Pingback: The Captain’s Quiz 4 Results | No Love for Fatties

  10. Pingback: The Captain’s Speech – Featured Blogger of the Week October 29, 2021 | Ups Downs Family History

  11. Pingback: The week gone by — Oct. 31 – A Silly Place

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.