Time and Place

Here at my desk I sit
I am no longer apart of it
for starters
I never knew you could find sadness
in happiness
just like I never knew you could find the end
at the beginning
I never knew you could learn so much
but know nothing
and I swear I never knew you could find yesterday
in every day
except this one
but the thing about time and place
is it can make you remember
so here’s the deal
it was around this time
and around that place
where everything changed
until I changed
where everything was left behind
while I just left
and every year when the time comes
but the place doesn’t
it hurts
oh God it hurts
I can’t watch it anymore
I need to divert my eyes
maybe tell myself a few lies
before the rest of my heart dies
because piece by piece
one by one
it rips out all the fun
but how many times can one cry wolf
before they just cry
and cry
and cry
I’ll tell you this
I remember each one
all so different
but always the same
and I remember the happiness
the freedom
the fresh air
and the burgers we ate out there
with the cool breeze that stayed the night
I remember the smiles on our faces
and never needing a mirror to see them
I remember the good times
oh how I wish that last line
didn’t push it all away
I remember
I remember
I remember
and that’s the problem
I kept the emails
somebody had to
so I can remember
how I felt when I first read them
and when I look at their date
to remember this time
and that place
I know
it will always be apart of me
even though
I am no longer apart of it
here at my desk I sit.

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Time and Place

  1. Tenacity T says:

    Loved this!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Barb Knowles says:

    I like everything that you write. But you hit this out of the ballpark. Your best poem (I know I’ve said that before), your very best.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. christophermcgeownwriting says:

    soooo good, wow–love it

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Miriam says:

    Really beautifully written Paul. Loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Very paradoxical. Wonderful write

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Chirping Canary says:

    Wow. Just wow. Did I mention you never cease to impress me? My sister used to always read aloud your posts to me until I was just like ‘you know what? I need to follow him.’ I’m sure I said something like that. The funny thing is, (isn’t that saying weird? What even is the infamous “funny thing”) I always thought you were like 40 or something. I don’t know why. Isn’t the human mind strange? That was an interesting hare trail (I decided to be a rebel instead of saying rabbit trail). Anyway, nice post Paul!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.