The Captain’s Quiz 3: The Escape Quiz (RESULTS)

The time has come to crown the winner of The Captain’s Quiz 3: The Escape Quiz. Are you ready to escape? Good. This was a wild one. Let’s get right to it.

The Challengers

Sabrina – Not-so-teenage Witch
Boot scootin’

Ben – Meerkat Musings
It’s coming home

rebbit7 The Finicky Cynic
The penguins are congregating

Aaron – The Confusing Middle
Back to the future, front to the past

Becky – Strikeouts + Sprinkles
Distracted by dogs

Bex – BEXoxoBlog
Called out the champ

Bill – A Silly Place
It’s all about the game and how you play it

Monty – Monty’s Scribbles
Bill’s fault

Catherine – where fiction and reality merged
Ou est la bibliothèque?

Renata – Buffalo Sauce Everywhere
Here for the curly fries

The Reigning, Defending, Captain’s Quiz Champion

T – No Love for Fatties
Won’t return her crown if she loses

Scoring

You will receive 1, 3, or 5 points for your answer to each question. I was fairly generous this time around, don’t expect that next time.

There are hidden bonus points available within each question. If you gave a response that I was looking for, you earned the points.

This is an example of what your score will look like for each question:

Name: (Points Earned); (1, 3, or 5) + (Bonus Point) + (Bonus Point)
Paul: (9); 5 + 2 + 2

If there is a tie in the Final Standings, Bonus Points are the tiebreaker.

Without any further adieu, Allez Quiz-ine!

The 10 Questions

1. You and a stranger are stuck in an elevator for three hours. After how many minutes would you tell them your name?

+2 if you wait for the other person to introduce themselves first
+2 if you say under 20 minutes

T: (6); 5 + 1 (partially committed to sharing your name if stranger shared theirs) + 0

Sabrina: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (You said 10 min., here are 2 points for being friendly/oversharing with strangers)

Ben: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (You said 10-15 min., here are 2 points)

rebbit7: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (5 minutes!)

Aaron: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (17 minutes is very exact, which I like)

Becky: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (10 minutes!)

Bex: (6); 5 + 1 (Partially committed to sharing your name if stranger shared theirs) + 0

Bill: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (5-10 minutes. I like how you played out how the situation would unfold.)

Monty: (7); 5 + 2 (Well, this answer took a detour, didn’t it) + 0

Catherine: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (7.5 minutes. Love the precision.)

Renata: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (You would’ve told them your name before the elevator even got stuck. Ha!)

2. You’re the first person to enter the movie theatre. Which seat do you choose and why?

+2 if above exit
+2 if you mention food

T: (8); 5 + 1 (sitting over exit was based on a hypothetical) + 2 (mentioned food)

Sabrina: (5); 5 + 0 + 0 (no food, Paul is sad)

Ben: (5): 5 + 0 (wish I could give points for being close to an aisle, but no) + 0

rebbit7: (5); 5 (I appreciate the thought put into sitting in the middle – the sound does hit just right) + 0 + 0

Aaron: (5); 5 + 0 (Back row, middle – I respect it) + 0 (can someone throw me a bone/popcorn here)

Becky: (5); 5 + 0 (Top row, aisle – nice choice) + 0 (I’m starving)

Bex: (5); 5 + 0 (Your reason for sitting off-centre in your row is sneakily brilliant) + 0

Bill: (5); 5 + 0 (Another middle row person! If everyone who did this quiz ever went to the movies together, it would be a mad dash to the middle row.) + 0

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 (Aisle seat near the back) + 0

Catherine: (5); 5 + 0 (One row behind the middle because that’s where the best sound is – very similar to what rebbit7 said) + 0

Renata: (5); 5 + 0 (Another fan of aisle seats) + 0

3. If you were to navigate a giant maze with one celebrity, who would it be and why do you think you’d work well together?

+2 if it’s a celebrity I know
+2 if you talk about the roles each of you would have

T: (6); 5 + 0 (who is Shemar Moore??) + 1 (needed more detail for roles)

Sabrina: (8); 5 + 2 (I know Jason Mamoa) + 1 (needed more detail for roles)

Ben: (8); 5 + 2 (I know Keanu Reeves) + 1 (needed more detail for roles)

rebbit7: (6); 5 + 0 (Who is Ryan Higa? Oh, you told me – a YouTuber) + 1 (you gave Ryan’s role, but not yours)

Aaron: (8); 5 + 2 (I know Nick Offerman) + 1 (needed more)

Becky: (8); 5 + 2 (I know Joey from The Circle) + 1 (needed your roles)

Bex: (7); 5 + 2 (I know Mike Ruffalo) + 0

Bill: (7); 5 + 2 (I know Daniel Craig) + 0

Monty: (7); 5 + 2 (I do not know who The Secret Submissive [your Twitter crush] is) + 0

Catherine: (7); 5 + 2 (I know Russell Brand) + 0

Renata: (8); 5 + 2 (I know Josh Gad) + 1

4. Eggs can be cooked in many different ways. Pick one and build a meal around it. What is included in that meal?

+1 for each item I like (other than egg)

T: (8); 5 + 3 (I like: cheese, chicken, and veggies)

Sabrina: (10); 5 + 5 (I like: rice, mushrooms, peas, baby corn, and chicken)

Ben: (8); 5 + 3 (I like: sausage, toast, and bacon as long as it’s not crispy)

rebbit7: (6); 5 + 1 (Pesto fusilli pasta – LET’S GO)

Aaron: (8); 5 + 3 (I like: sausage, toast, and milk. I don’t trust the colour of grape jelly.)

Becky: (10); 5 + 5 (I like: toast, shredded cheddar cheese [yesss], turkey sausage, ketchup, and apple juice)

Bex: (7); 5 + 2 (I like: ribs and corn on the cob)

Bill: (10); 5 + 5 (I like: sausage, toast, English muffin, home fries, and ketchup)

Monty: (7); 5 + 2 (I like: pork belly and white rice)

Catherine: (7); 5 + 2 (I like: spinach and mashed potatoes)

Renata: (8); 5 + 3 (I like: vegetables, potatoes, and cheese)

5. Select the task you’d be able to complete the fastest and explain why:
A) Blow up (with your mouth) and tie 3 balloons
or
B) Pop 150 balloons with a thumbtack

+2 if you have problems tying a balloon
+2 if you say popping balloons is fun

T: (5); 5 + 0 + 0 (Chose A; popping balloons is too noisy)

Sabrina: (5); 5 + 0 + 0 (Chose B; can’t blow up a balloon)

Ben: (7); 5 + 0 (Chose B; you said you’re “useless at blowing”) + 2 (you used the word “glee” aka fun)

rebbit7: (7); 5 + 2 (Chose B; tying balloons is hard!) + 0

Aaron: (5); 5 + 0 (Chose A; sounds like tying balloons comes easy to you) + 0

Becky: (5); 5 + 0 (Chose A; will use inhaler to help her out, which is not one of our banned substances) + 0

Bex: (5); 5 + 0 (Chose A; developed her ability to blow up balloons while in a motorcycle club with her parents – best answer I read) + 0

Bill: (7); 5 + 2 (Chose B; finally someone who struggles with tying balloons!) + 0

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 (Chose A; chasing down 150 balloons is difficult) + 0

Catherine: (5); 5 (Chose A; says it’s not that hard. I beg to differ!) + 0 + 0

Renata: (5); 5 (Chose A; “would need time to recover from the overwhelm felt from each balloon popping noise”) + 0 + 0

6. Comedians in Cars Getting Coffee is a talk show hosted by Jerry Seinfeld. Using the same format for the title (Ex. Poodles on Patios Getting Crumbs), what would be the name of your talk show?

+2 if alliteration

T: (5); 5 + 0 (Teachers in Classrooms Getting Chocolates is fun. Not sure about the artificial “drug ring” you just admitted to, though.)

Sabrina: (7); 5 + 2 (Dancers on Deck Getting Deep. Yes, that.)

Ben: (7); 5 + 2 (Meerkats on Mars Getting Murdered. So, is it cancelled after one season?)

rebbit7: (7); 5 + 2 (Penguins in Paris Getting Pastries. Gonna need Animal Planet to green light this show immediately, thanks.)

Aaron: (7); 5 + 2 (Pilots on Planes Getting Pie. Another P alliteration! You love to P it.)

Becky: (5); 5 + 0 (Position Players Pitching on Bullpen Carts Getting Beers. We can fight about it later, but my official ruling is that this isn’t alliteration, even though parts of it is.)

Bex: (5); 5 + 0 (Seahorses in Slippers Getting Whiskey. A mix of Nanny 911 and Drunk History, you say?)

Bill: (7); 5 + 2 (Bloggers on Bikes Getting Baked Goods. I like this one. Already picturing someone hitting a bump and dropping the baked goods on the sidewalk.)

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 (Idiots Online Getting Ignored. So, you’re telling me viewership would be poor? That’s unfortunate.)

Catherine: (7); 5 + 2 (Bloggers on Beds Getting Breakfast. I can picture it.)

Renata: (7); 5 + 2 (People at Parties Getting to hear about my Past Traumas. Sounds like it could be an ambush reality show.)

7. Arthur is an animated educational television series for children. What are 5 television shows you watched as a child?

+2 for each show I’ve heard of
+1 if I watched it regularly

T: (18); 5 + 10 + 3 (I also watched Bugs Bunny & Tweety, Recess, and Pingu)

Sabrina: (16); 5 + 8 (Don’t think I’ve heard of Country Mouse and City Mouse) + 3 (I also watched Magic School Bus, Bill Nye, and Popular Mechanics for Kids)

Ben: (14); 5 + 8 (Never heard of Button Moon. I am giving you full points for Teenage Mutant Hero Turtles, as I see the UK changed the word “Ninja” because of its negative connotation, so I won’t punish you) + 1 (I’d watch Power Rangers before school)

rebbit7: (17); 5 + 8 (Haven’t heard of Dragon Tales) + 4 (Yes to: Mister Rogers’ Neighbourhood, Rugrats, That’s So Raven, and Lizzie McGuire)

Aaron: (9); 5 + 4 (I’ve heard of: Thundercats and G.I. Joe) + 0 (Don’t know: He-Man and the Masters of the Universe, The World of David the Gnome, or Captain Planet and the Planeteers)

Becky: (18); 5 + 10 (Heard of: Bear in the Big Blue House, The Big Comfy Couch, Blue’s Clues, The Busy World of Richard Scary, and Franklin) + 3 (Didn’t regularly watch Bear… or Blue’s Clues)

Bex: (15); 5 + 8 (Hadn’t heard of Rocket Power) + 2 (I watched Rugrats and All That)

Bill: (9); 5 + 4 (I’ve heard of: Batman and Tom & Jerry. Apologies to your bowling shows.) + 0

Monty: (16); 5 + 10 (I’ve heard of: Mr. Rogers, Sesame Street, Reading Rainbow, Gilligan’s Island, and Road Runner) + 1 (Only watched Mr. Rogers regularly)

Catherine: (10); 5 + 4 (I’ve heard of: A-Team and Murder, She Wrote, but not Knight Rider, Airwolf, or Quincy) + 1 (Loved watching Murder, She Wrote)

Renata: (17); 5 + 10 (I’ve heard of: Spongebob Squarepants, Fairly Oddparents, Hey Arnold!, Doug, and Rugrats) + 2 (Watched: Rugrats and Doug)

8. Pillows provide support and help keep our upper body aligned during sleep. What is the strangest place you’ve ever fallen asleep? Tell the story, if there is one.

+2 if it’s at school
+2 if it’s a very public place or +1 if it’s a public place but not very

T: (7); 5 + 0 + 2 (A restaurant qualifies as a very public place, plus strangers noticed you were asleep)

Sabrina: (6); 5 + 0 + 1 (Falling asleep on a plane doesn’t qualify as a very public place)

Ben: (1); 1 (Didn’t provide a strange place) + 0 + 0 (Mentioned a plane, but said you didn’t fall asleep)

rebbit7: (6); 5 + 0 + 1 (On a very rickety bus ride to the Grand Canyon? That takes skill)

Aaron: (6); 5 + 0 + 1 (Asleep in a movie theatre! I feel like this just adds to your legacy as a movie aficionado)

Becky: (1); 1 (Unfortunately, the “bed” and “couch” aren’t strange places) + 0 + 0

Bex: (5); 5 + 0 + 0 (Inside a closet of a camper is very impressive, though it is very un-public)

Bill: (9); 5 + 2 (Finally someone who fell asleep at school! I don’t blame you for it being in science class.) + 2 (Very public. Well done. Full marks.)

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 + 0 (Falling asleep in a plate of spaghetti. Hope it wasn’t al dente.)

Catherine: (9); 5 + 2 (In school during math! Just like with Bill in science, I can’t blame you.) + 2 (Very public)

Renata: (9); 5 + 2 (You fell asleep at the Trans Siberian Orchestra Christmas concert!? That’s amazing.) + 1

9. “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” is a song by the band, Tears for Fears. If you could be in charge of anything, what would it be?

+2 if it’s a comedic/not too serious answer

T: (5); 5 + 0 (Being in charge of the Public School System is noble, but not comedic. Then again…)

Sabrina: (3); 3 (Didn’t really give a specific answer) + 0

Ben: (5); 5 (Ben for PM of UK – I’m your campaign manager) + 0

rebbit7: (5); 5 + 0 (I feel bad I can’t give bonus points to someone wanting to be in charge of ending COVID)

Aaron: (5); 5 + 0 (The library, so you can access to all the books at all times, is a good answer)

Becky: (7); 5 + 2 (Finally a comedic answer! – “The National Association of Bat Dogs. I’d make sure that all of the bat dogs across baseball games are treated well, have enough snacks and exercise, and have cute little bandanas to wear during games.”)

Bex: (6); 5 + 1 (Chief Executive Inspector of nail polish names. You mentioned the names are normally puns, so that earned you 1 point for the answer being kind of comedic!

Bill: (5); 5 + 0 (I like the changes you suggested for sports. Your gripe with two-handed bowling is wonderful.)

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 (Global Education is an admirable cause, though it gets you 0 bonus points)

Catherine: (1); 1 (Unfortunately, you don’t want to be in charge. That’s okay.) + 0

Renata: (7); 5 (Inappropriate Sentimentality) + 2 (I’m counting this as not too serious)

10. Your closet is a portal to a new “location” (think: wardrobe to Narnia), where does it lead to? What do you see?

+2 if it’s a mythical/magical place

T: (7); 5 + 2 (The North Pole with Santa’s workshop and a house of hippos qualifies)

Sabrina: (7); 5 + 2 (A magical fairytale fantasy land is the definition of “mythical place”)

Ben: (7); 5 + 2 (I have no idea what the TARDIS from Doctor Who is, but Wikipedia says to give you the points)

rebbit7: (7); 5 + 2 (Ohhh a teleportation room. Very sneaky. Then you can go anywhere)

Aaron: (5); 5 + 0 (A gazebo overlooking a serene lake, complete with an endless supply of drinks in a refrigerator sounds like what being an adult should be like)

Becky: (7); 5 + 2 (A never-ending library that automatically replenishes itself with new books. Magic.)

Bex: (5); 5 + 0 (A campfire with mountain and a waterfall, as well as a cabin, sounds lovely)

Bill: (5); 5 + 0 (The finest cities of Europe sound magical, but alas, are not)

Monty: (5); 5 + 0 (Going to see your kids is the most wholesome answer so far)

Catherine: (7); 5 + 2 (A castle in the clouds, with music and happy people. Very nice.)

Renata: (5); 5 + 0 (The Lotus, the Barista, and the Silence – a place for yoga and lattes, with a fountain)

Bonus Question

1. Please enter the correct 6-digit passcode to successfully escape this quiz.

If you take the first letter from the first word of each of the 10 Questions, it spells out:

1. Y
2. Y
3. I
4. E
5. S
6. C
7. A
8. P
9. E
10. Y

Therefore, the correct 6-digit passcode was: 456789

The fact that it also spelled out, “I ESCAPE”, was merely accidental. Question #3 should’ve also started with a Y, but I guess I subconsciously felt like giving you a clue.

EACH NUMBER YOU GET CORRECT, IN ITS EXACT SPOT, WILL EARN YOU 7 POINTS. MEANING, YOU COULD EARN UP TO 42 POINTS.

T: (0); Good thinking but, 020991 is incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Sabrina: (0); You said, 372273. I see what you were going for, but that is incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Ben: (0); You almost gave me your PIN number, but instead went with, 111111. So close and yet, incredibly far. You are trapped in the quiz.

rebbit7: (0); You said, 131337 – I *am* Elite. Unfortunately, that is incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Aaron: (7); You said, 120721, which means WOOP WOOP WOOP, you hit on the #7. You are trapped in the quiz, but not as trapped as those who got 0 numbers right.

Becky: (0); You said, 123456, which is so close! If only you started counting at 4 instead of 1! You are trapped in the quiz.

Bex: (0); Just like Sabrina, you said 372273. Unfortunately, that is still incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Bill: (14); You said, 931729, which means you got 2 numbers correct! The 7 and the 9 at the end. You are still trapped in the quiz, but are one step closer to the exit than Aaron.

Monty: (7); You said, 888888, which means you got 1 number correct. The 8! Obviously. You are still trapped in the quiz, but are neck and neck with Aaron as to who gets out after Bill.

Catherine: (0); You said, 762021. That is incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Renata: (0); You said, 315056. That is incorrect. You are trapped in the quiz.

Final Standings

11. Catherine: 65 (19 BP)

10. Bex: 66 (16 BP)

9. Ben: 69 (23 BP)

8. Aaron: 72 (15 BP)

7. rebbit7: 73 (23 BP)

6. Becky: 73 (24 BP)

5. Monty: 74 (17 BP)

4. Sabrina: 74 (26 BP)

3. T: 75 (25 BP)

2. Renata: 78 (27 BP)

1. Bill: 85 (21 BP)

THE WINNER AND NEWWW CAPTAIN’S QUIZ CHAMPION…BILL!!!

THE BOYHOOD DREAM HAS COME TRUE!!

CONGRATULATIONS!

Congratulations to Renata and T for rounding out the podium! This was a tight battle from top to bottom, with only 20 points separating first and last.

Thank you, everyone, for participating and for forming some rivalries this past week. It was a joy to watch and I can’t wait to see it continue.

Here is an updated list of our Captain’s Quiz champions:

Captain’s Quiz Champions

The Captain’s Quiz – T
The Captain’s Quiz 2: Lost in the Quiz – T
The Captain’s Quiz 3: The Escape Quiz –
Bill

I will be back in a few weeks with The Captain’s Quiz 4: The World Is Watching.

Quiz ya later.

This entry was posted in Captain's Quiz and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to The Captain’s Quiz 3: The Escape Quiz (RESULTS)

  1. cd says:

    Congrats Bill!

    But honestly, how did no one mention snacks at the movies, that is the first thing I do when I go, very shocked

    Liked by 2 people

  2. gigglingfattie says:

    WHAT THIS IS A COMPLETE OUTRAGE PAUL!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Catherine says:

    I came in last, what did I win?

    Congrats to everyone and notably to Bill. Thank you Paul, for a fun quiz. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Bill says:

    I AM THE KING OF THE BLOGGERS! BRING ME THE FINEST MEATS AND CHEESES IN ALL THE LAND! (H/t Kenny Mayne)

    Of course, winning the title is one thing. Keeping it is another.

    By the way, my formula for the final code:
    93- Doug Gilmour
    17- Wendel Clark
    29 – Felix Potvin

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Bex says:

    Well I received a ‘best answer read’ comment so that has to count for something, right?! Miss Congeniality maybe…?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sabrina B says:

    I tend to linger around fourth but I WILL TAKE IT. And I was honest! You know it would be very in character for me to be friendly with strangers I was stuck in an elevator with.

    Movie snacks do not factor into my movie theatre seat choice!! I will plant myself down with my popcorn and NOT MOVE.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      You’re consistent! Lurking in the shadows, waiting to breakthrough. The win is coming.

      I just figured someone would throw a random comment in there like “Me and my popcorn will sit in the middle seat and enjoy ourselves”. Getting up to get food after entering the theatre is a faux pas in my book.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sabrina B says:

        One day, it will be just the right combo of questions, and my day will come!!

        Oh big same, especially when people leave just as the movie is starting and its like, you were sitting there that whole time!! What is your excuse!!! I also think I wasn’t thinking about it this time around because next time I’m in a theatre (presumably) I’ll probably have a mask on and so will not be eating popcorn

        Liked by 1 person

      • Paul says:

        Yes I don’t get it! Even if they’re there to drop off their little kids and reserve seats. Then they come back with boxes full of popcorn bags and drinks and can’t navigate up the stairs in the dark. It’s just a disaster.

        Liked by 1 person

  7. montyvern says:

    I had no clue this was going to be so methodical and mathematical!!! No wonder I lost. But no worries, a very fun time was had and I’m ready to come back next time for a shot at the championship (or at least another laugh). Thanks!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: The Captain’s Quiz Results: OUTRAGEOUS! | No Love for Fatties

  9. Becky says:

    Congrats Bill! 🎉 I’m finally glad I participated in a quiz, it was a lot of fun!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. rebbit7 says:

    Thanks for having me on the quiz again, Paul! I hope to get a higher score next time, but this will do! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  11. peckapalooza says:

    I did worse this time around… I’m gonna try and not read into that.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: The week gone by — July 18 – A Silly Place

  13. Pingback: 2015-2021 | No Love for Fatties

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.