Know You Then

I miss the things I do not say
wouldn’t make a difference either way
it used to be today
it used to be today

Brought on by fate and prayer
we took a moment to breathe in the summer air
I don’t know where
I don’t know where

Woke up just to make you proud
now let me hide my face in the crowd
I let them scream loud
I let them scream loud

If I never chase that scent again
mark my name down with a ballpoint pen
will I know you then
will I know you then

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Know You Then

  1. Ely says:

    I almost tried to unravel this.. but then I thought- it’s even more beautiful if we let it remain a mystery. Sundays are for deep thought and this is probably deeper than anyone will understand. Happy Sunday evening! PS- My cake came out phenomenal. BUT my iPhone refuses to start or charge- and I’ve spent the day trying to unravel THAT and I think this is also, better off a mystery because I’m exhausted!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Oh yes, my poems are too hard to unravel because they mean things that only I know lol. Glad to hear about the cake! I was following along with the “progress pics”. Try plugging your phone in and then holding down the power button and the circle button at the bottom, at the same time for about 10 seconds. You might resuscitate it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Natalia says:

    The thing about poetry is if it doesn’t sound nice and is not easy to read – nobody wants to read it. I don’t know if you follow my thought …. I read this poem like a song … a well familiar song. It was so easy, like I knew it already. And it touched me. It’s beautiful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

