Sunset

Start me up, simple words
dig through the deep depths of my soul
and pull out those feelings
one at a time
until they are in front of my eyes
because I need to see them
it has been too long
and I almost forgot
just how beautiful they were
it was easier then
a lot easier
but now I find myself
in a spot where I can chase
the sunset of yesterday
and turn it into
the sunrise of tomorrow
I’ll be honest with you
it’s proven quite hard to do
not because I don’t want it
but because I do
admitting that is scary, you know
a part of me just wants to ignore it
ignore all the signs
the temptation
the hands that are pulling me closer
because it’s easier that way
a lot easier
to keep my hands clean
and not dig up old truths
the ones I want so dearly
yet am hesitant to look for
maybe I expired
and what I said was the new truth
but maybe I’m still fresh
and what I said was false
I don’t know
I just don’t
and the time to decide
is not enough
so, what do I do
do I open a new book
and fill it with old stories
while changing some words
or do I keep it shut
let the ink stay dry
and let the ending remain
how it has been all this time
sudden
silent
sunset.

Ahead By A Century – The Tragically Hip

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunset

  1. Julia McGeown says:

    I love this poem Paul!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

