Bits and Pieces

Take a look
over your left shoulder
you’ll find me there
your worry holder
and I’ll be there
if you need me now
because if you need me now
then now will never end

It’s the little things
you hope to find
like chocolates
and an open mind
when one more thing
is never enough
it’s never enough
you can’t get enough

Find your song
on the radio
turn it up
and don’t let go
it can play us in
it can play us out
listen for your line
and leave no doubt

Watch the seconds
tick on your watch
the moments fly by
without a botch
are you worried now
I am worried now
the best are gone
but time goes on

Dip your toes
in the water below
the further we get
the deeper we go
if I start to go down
will you pick me up
who will pick you up
should we just get out

When you change your mind
and leave me behind
all I ask is
take me with you
and you with me
to the places where
we can never be
it will never be

Form a picture
in your head
of the people you love
before you’re dead
and hold it together
bit by bit
so we can hold it forever
piece by piece

So take a look now
over your right shoulder
you’ll find me there
your worry holder
and I’ll be here
if you need me now
because if you need me now
then now can never end.

The Runner and the Lover – Former Vandal (ft. Shelby Merry)

Now on Twitter: @CappyTalks

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. J.C. Scheff says:

    Beautiful. I especially love the line,
    “listen for your line
    and leave no doubt”

    There are many songs that hold our lines that serve such purpose for us.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. -Eugenia says:

    Very nice. Live life now and don’t forget your loved ones.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. heymeghan91 says:

    I’ve already told you how much I love this, but I’m going to tell you again!
    I LOVE THIS!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Squid says:

    THE REFERENCE! “On your left”
    (loved the poem of course, but this was my continuous thought during the entire thing, hehe)

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Squid says:

    “Take a look/ over your left shoulder” (1-2) sounds like Captain America’s quotable line from his second movie, “On your left” as he passes Sam Wilson while jogging af superhuman speed. And, I have been writing about poetry for school a lot, so now I know how to properly quote poetry. Yay!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

