Circle

Songs don’t change, they’re the lucky ones
Maybe we follow a different tune
Sitting in front of a slot machine
Hoping, wishing, praying
Searching for luck because this is where it is found
I hit the jackpot
We won
Now what?

A tradition would be nice, don’t you think?
The world is full of things, but none of them belong to us
This can be ours
Our thing
And when it fades away over time
We can begin again, right?
Right?
Hello?

There is no need to think, when you know
Two plus two
Four
See, you knew
When your calculations go astray, however
Nothing is automatic anymore
If you need this moment to think
What will you waste the next moment on?

Move your piece after you roll the dice
Did that
But now I’ve moved back three spaces
And my turn is being skipped
Wait a minute
Excuse me
Somebody
Anybody?

What do you do when the opposite always comes true?
You experience both sides of the coin
Call it in the air
One day, your head is up
The next day, you’re running in circles
Chasing tails
Trying to be whole again
When was it flipped on its head?

These pockets no longer carry my unexpected winnings
Every single minute I had was spent
And what do I have to show for it?
Words I cannot say
Thoughts I’ve said too many times
And feelings that don’t know how to go away
Because when your heart takes a picture
You don’t need a camera.

No, you don’t need a camera
You’re running in circles
Excuse me
There is no need to think, when you know
And when it fades away over time
Maybe we follow a different tune
But right now it’s like my bike is caught in a tree
And all I can do is watch the leaves form a circle around me.


Written while listening to: Concrete Blonde – Joey

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Circle

  1. I love this. It was engaging throughout and I really like the thought process you have conveyed so beautifully. I’m going to listen to the song in my break otherwise my curiosity will not let me rest. Have a lovely day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barb Knowles says:

    This is a great idea. I love your words (that sounds ridiculous but i hope you know what I mean) but they are so emotionally evocative. Now I have to listen to the song.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

