Twelve

I was not ready and I never knew
that those would be the final words I ever spoke to you
maybe we are waiting for the stars to align
or we want the other to recite the first line
you know I can be dumb sometimes
and stubborn about the rest
but I never forgot
put your ear to my chest
so maybe it’s too late
or perhaps you forgot
I’m not even sure it’ll be what I thought
I’m probably wrong
I normally am
but there was never a chance
not even a second glance
so I guess this life time needs to get longer
and the silence in between
is supposed to make us stronger
because before we go
I need the day to come
the one where we return
to where we came from.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twelve

  1. Woah! I love this, I feel it resonated with me on so many levels. Thank you for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. priyanmuthu says:

    This is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Barb Knowles says:

    Beautiful yet sad. I hope the day comes….

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

