Just Like Me

I bet the night doesn’t greet you like it used to
a gripping bear hug
you try to wiggle free
struggling to push it away
all you want is space
the bed is too small
nowhere to put your arms anymore.

I bet you know you’re wrong
statements you don’t believe in
words you say for no reason
a stance you hold
waiting for a picture to be taken
slowly processed
no one goes to a party for one.

I bet you were once out of your head
the eyes straight ahead held your reflection
steps were taken
left right left
you never thought
you knew
your reflection found a new home.

I bet you had a clue
put the puzzle pieces together
started with the edges
worked your way in
so close to the answer
so far from the question
a solved puzzle left in disarray.

I bet you hate the clock
the way it hurls insults
every tick
every tock
a reminder that you’re running out
better start walking
do you remember how to crawl?

I bet you forgot how to feel
reset to a default setting
still in its package
batteries not included
what is a memory
which factory makes them
is this when I’m supposed to laugh?

I bet you listen to too many songs
they tickle your ear
you hope they beat your heart
hypnotize your mind
like a lightbulb
you wait for the switch to go on
but you don’t live here anymore.

I bet you ask many questions
to no one in particular
when and why
how and what
where and who…
you pause
…am I?

I bet you are just like me
I am sorry
venn diagram
we are nothing alike
I am me
who are you
I thought I was you.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just Like Me

  1. Barb Knowles says:

    “I bet you forgot how to feel
    reset to a default setting
    still in its package
    batteries not included”
    I loved that. What a great analogy. I also loved the Venn diagram analogy and how it brought you to “I thought I was you,”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Words with such meaning. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I bet you hate the clock
    the way it hurls insults
    every tick
    every tock
    a reminder that you’re running out
    better start walking
    do you remember how to crawl?”
    I liked that one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Shiwani says:

    I thought you were me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

