Sometimes

Sometimes all I want to do is go home
but no one left a trail
and I don’t have a map
I’m sorry

Sometimes I don’t know what to say
so I say I don’t know
but that’s never the right answer
I’m sorry

Sometimes I feel like I let you down
so I sneak around the conversation
to avoid the point where I will
I’m sorry

Sometimes I want to recreate the past
to see the people and places I miss
so I can say and do the things I should have
I’m sorry

Sometimes I don’t see my reflection
it’s as if someone else took my place
and is living my life
I’m sorry

Sometimes I cry
to let the tears cleanse my face
so I can see my reflection again
I’m sorry

Sometimes I’m afraid to tell the truth
because I don’t like the reaction
and that hurts
I’m sorry

Sometimes others believe in me
and I think they’re kidding
because I turn everything into a joke
I’m sorry

Sometimes I want to show the world what I can do
but something stops me from going through
because I think they won’t care
I’m sorry

Sometimes I try to make everyone else happy
but it’s rarely reciprocated
and I wonder why
I’m sorry

Sometimes I’m stuck in an old mindset
thinking everyone is laughing at me
and if you only knew how paralyzing that is
I’m sorry

Sometimes I need you and wonder if you need me too
but we’ll never admit it
because we don’t know each other anymore
I’m sorry

Sometimes I feel alone
and I don’t know if I like it
or if I hate it
I’m sorry

But sometimes there is a sign from above
telling me my life fits like a glove
so I look for hope
and I’m not sorry

Because I don’t won’t to be sorry anymore
not today, not tomorrow
I just want to be me
no apology.

                 “When I let go of what I am, I become what I might be.”

                                                                    – Lao Tzu

 

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Sometimes

  1. Talula Teabag says:

    Sometimes I read what Paul writes
    He touches a cord in my heart
    I wonder if he knows exactly how I feel
    I’m not sorry

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Miriam says:

    This is really touching and heartfelt Paul

    Liked by 1 person

  3. luckilylenny says:

    I wonder if you have the power to know every reader of your blog. How come that your words are exactly my feeling right now Captain?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sometimes all you can do is sigh. Really related to this

    Liked by 1 person

  5. cedricramey says:

    Really feeling this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ariel Lynn says:

    Wonderful ending! No apologies for being yourself is a fantastic message. Bravo! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Omg Paul. Is this a love poem?? Either way it is very well written. I am proud blog sister.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Barb Knowles says:

    One of your best poems! You’ve exposed emotions, fears and hope. This will resonate with so many people. “Sometimes I cry, to let the tears cleanse my face,so I can see my reflection again
    I’m sorry
    Sometimes I’m afraid to tell the truth, because I don’t like the reaction, and that hurts
    I’m sorry
    Sometimes others believe in me, and I think they’re kidding, because I turn everything into a joke
    I’m sorry”
    And then, the hope.
    THAT’S what resonated with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is how I feel today.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Val says:

    It resonates with me too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

