Pretend

I saw it in a dream the other night
for once, it felt right
I didn’t want to open my eyes
that is when dreams turn to lies
one and done
here comes the sun
it’s not fair
it’s never been fair
which is why it’s easy to pretend
if you don’t like it
don’t press send
re-write the script
turn back the clock
have a re-do
take two
and let me be one
because I don’t know what to do
waking up to the dead air
in this world so round
and all the images
turned in at the lost and found
you know the mind can play tricks
if you let it
but I swear
this magician rolled up their sleeves
and is still hiding behind something
so I’ll say it again
it may never be fair
but one day maybe we’ll meet again
and I won’t want to close my eyes
because for once, it felt right
I saw you in a dream the other night.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pretend

  1. Iris Orpi says:

    Are these lyrics? It feels like a breathless (in a totally positive way) cross between stream of consciousness and performance poetry. The rhythm is so organic and sounds so uncontrived but it’s there even while I was reading it only in my mind. I liked how the mood was not in-your-face and just creeps at you. Masterful.

    If this was a song please forgive me for not knowing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barb Knowles says:

    If I write about everything that is beautiful and wonderful about this poem, I’ll be quoting every line and my comment will be twice as long as your post. Your imagery is stunning. “Waking up to the dead air” “But I swear this magician rolled up their sleeves.” This poem was filled with anguish, desire and hope. Crazy good.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Barb Knowles says:

    I think you meant to say but I never fail to make the author look brilliant ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. randyjw says:

    Wow; this is an awesome poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

