Puppets

There are very few people
who speak the same language anymore
put them in a room and close the door
because everyone else is a puppet
so proud of being a muppet
putting out thoughts
that spread like polka dots
meaningless on their own
but stronger together
if they only paid attention
instead of paying for attention
they’d realize that thoughts aren’t universal
they are individual
but I guess being an individual
has also gone by the wayside
because you need to be seen
you need to be heard
you need to talk with abbreviations for every word
and it’s a traffic jam in the middle
between the one’s who like to follow
and those trying to resist
the next generation can’t be missed
they are speeding down the highway
to join the crowd
turning their ‘music’ up loud
while sipping from the juice box
they just took out for snack after recess
who created this mess
these are the puppets
with a hand in their mouth
and a voice in their ear
it’s only going to get worse
year after year
as I sit here in line
waiting for another voice
to sound like mine.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Puppets

  1. Barb Knowles says:

    Excellent. If I wrote down each line that I l liked my comment would be as long as your poem. I know I’ve said this before but I REALLY want to hear you rap these lines.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Paul! This is so powerful. I read it three times. I’m sharing it with my friends. *starts slow clap*

    Liked by 2 people

  3. That was really good and horribly true.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Squid says:

    WOW. Scarily fashioned and powerfully revealing of our culture.
    I found a song called Anti-Conformity a while back and loved it for the reasons you described here; The artist had a voice lile mine! On my WP bio I had “antistereotypical teenager” as one of the first things to describe me for a while. I think I changed it but it might still be there… Hm…
    (Anti-Conformity is by Krystal Meyers if you want to look it up.)
    To the unique voices trying to heard above the din of monotony!
    Squid

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Squid says:

    Reblogged this on Squid's Cup of Tea and commented:
    Smack-dab in the face of culture comes this poem by a usually-hilarious Canadian pizza-lover named Paul. A great reminder to — actually, go read it and tell me (or him) what you think about it.
    To critical thinkers and anticonformists everywhere,
    Romans 12:2
    Squid

    Liked by 2 people

  6. dawnlizjones says:

    Well said! Just spoke to our daughter in Norway, where she says the saying is “the exposed nail gets hammered down.” Hmmm……. May I post this on my site? It will not show up for a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Little Rants says:

    Paul, you slay. (I had to say it.)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Miriam says:

    Very well written Paul and so very true as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great poem. I thought for sure you were going to say something about Starbucks!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

