A Letter To Petrina

Dear Petrina,

Hello and bonjour my fellow Canadian! Don’t worry, I won’t do this whole letter in english and french. Just french. Comment ça va? Ça va bien? Me too. Une question pour vous: Où est le pamplemousse? Dans la bibliothèque, or nah?

I hope this letter finds you well. I’m glad I can finally use the Polar Bear Express to ship one of these letters. It’s convenient and catchy!

Do you mind if I share some of my Canadian problems with you? I feel like you would understand.

My igloo has melted, my snow dogs have gone to Florida for the summer, and my pet beaver, Bucky, keeps telling me about his desire to build a dam and name it Daniel. He thinks he’s clever. My mom thinks he’s been hanging around me too much.

Bucky and I share clothes, so she might have a point. Don’t worry, I make him put on deodorant first.

Oh, and I haven’t even mentioned the maple syrup shortage in my town. The people on the news keep telling us, “Don’t make pancakes” and “Don’t have waffles” and “Don’t put a straw in the bottle” yada yada yada.

It’s like they have a hidden camera on me and know that I put a straw in the bottle.

Do you face these problems in your part of this beautiful country? If so, I feel for you. If not, I’m inviting myself over. Paul needs his pancakes.

Before I get into your questions for me, I just want to address something.

I thought it was really cool that when I asked for one of your interests, you said, “compassion among human beings.” I liked that. It was a selfless answer to what is normally taken as a selfish question.

I think the world needs more genuine compassion between people. So much of our compassion these days is transmitted through a button on social media, but that button has no sound and it’s not an arm that can be wrapped around us.

It’s words that our ears need to hear. It’s words that our eyes need to read. It’s not a red notification that disappears when we touch it. And I think so many of us are stuck in a world where we want to care about others and show our concern, but stop before even typing out one letter, or uttering a single syllable.

So I thank you for that response. It stood out.

Since this letter just took on a certain mood, I’ll answer your question about what words of encouragement I’d give to someone going through a hard time right now.

I would say this:

Rainbows only come when the storm ends. This is your storm. It will get dark. It will get scary. It will feel like you are all alone, no matter how many people are around you. It will feel like there is no end. All you want is a moment of silence, but the noise outside won’t grant you that privilege. It is hell. It is your hell. And somewhere else, someone else is also going through that same hell. But that does not diminish your situation. It means there are people who know exactly what you’re going through even though you haven’t told them. And if you can live through this storm, and find ways to dance in the rain, then eventually the rain will stop. The dark clouds will subside and a sun will shine through with a rainbow meant for you. Your storm may last longer than someone else’s, but it won’t last forever. I hope you can find a little bit of comfort in that and know that your rainbow is coming. Because those people who can relate to your storm, some of them have already seen the rainbow and they want you to see it too one day. So, hold on. Be strong. And survive your storm. You will.

Well, that was heavy.

Not as heavy as my pet beaver, though! I keep telling him to lay off the Lays potato chips, but he won’t listen. Almost as if he doesn’t understand english.

Oh well.

How was that for a comedic transition? Good? Awful? None of the above?

Alright, now on to the big one. You want me to tell you what life is like in a world outside of our galaxy. Fortunately, I know exactly what it’s like even though no one else does.

I took astronomy in university. I didn’t like it and didn’t do as well as I probably could have, but I went to every class, so that counts for something.

First things first, there is life outside of our galaxy. They have their own little world on a planet astronomers have yet to discover. That planet is called Huptero. Inhabitants of Huptero (Hupteronians) are human beings just like you and me.

However, they aren’t divided into continents or countries. They are just one nation known as Huptero.

“Yup, we are Hup” is their slogan. Catchy, isn’t it? Almost makes me wish Earth had a slogan. May I run some suggestions by you?

“Give birth, it’s Earth!”

“I have something in my Ear-th”

“Stop killing me.”

Any of those stand out?

As for the lifestyle of the people living on Huptero, it’s drastically different than ours. They are about 500 years ahead of us in terms of development because their nation stuck together and didn’t believe in war.

Some more features include:

1. Flying Cars. Yes, it finally happened!
2. You can walk through the drive-thru!
3. Money doesn’t exist because people do things from the goodness of their hearts.
4. Their version of Toy Story is called, Toy Tales. The sequel features Slink the Dog and is called Toy Tails. Creative, huh?
5. Social media was banned 300 years ago because they “just couldn’t even” anymore.

Those are just a few things, but there are many more differences. A lot of them are for the better. In fact, I think Huptero is essentially a utopia, but the people living there don’t know it because they don’t know the alternative.

Earth is the alternative. Some day we’ll let them in on all the evil they know nothing about.

The worst thing about Huptero is the fact that their toilets talk back to them, saying things like, “Oh no, not you again!”

Other than that, it’s a pretty swell society!

Well, I should be going now.

I hope you enjoyed this letter, Petrina! Keep on fighting through life and doing things you like to do. I’ve seen your travel blog and the places you’ve been and how happy exploring the world makes you. Please don’t stop exploring.

Best of luck to you and your current igloo situation (if it’s anything like mine).

Au revoir mon ami,


Paul & Bucky

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Letters and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A Letter To Petrina

  1. Angela says:

    Where can I get the next space shuttle to Huptero? Please?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you for this, Paul. I was initially going to post my reply as a comment, but I realized I couldn’t possibly justify replying to this wonderful letter in just a few sentences within a comment section. So expect your own lettre soon, mon ami!
    (I’m also somewhat proud I could read your bit in French, and I’m just going to pretend I didn’t google translate “letter” from English to French just now)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paul. You could be the next Dr. Seuss. The way you wrote this…wow. Just saying.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. micqu says:

    That piece of advice was ‘magnifique’. It’s what I would have said too. These letters are awesome… Give my regards to Bucky 🙂

    xx

    Liked by 2 people

  5. rebecak says:

    🙂 Please mail Bucky to me. That is all.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Pingback: A Letter to Paul – petrinaponders

Leave a Reply

