2 Truths, 1 Lie

As the saying goes, if you tell the truth two times out of three, you’ll never lie twice.

Okay, I just made that up. But it’s a great saying, isn’t it? Spread it like peanut butter on bread. Or if you choose to skip the bread part, spread it like peanut butter on your tongue.

Tired of my nonsense yet? Great!

I’ve been nominated by Isabella Simons to reveal 2 truths and 1 lie, five times. So if my math is correct, that’s 23 truths and 14 lies.

PLEASE play along in the comments below and try to figure out which statements are false. I’ll post the answers tomorrow or Monday, so serious bragging rights are on the line.

You can tell your friends stuff like, “I really know Paul!” and “I knew when Paul was lying more than anyone else!”

They’ll be impressed, trust me! And confused.

In each set of three, two statements are true and one is false. Figure out which one that is. Let me know below. And you can win a car! Let’s play!

ONE 
a) I had a pet hamster when I was a kid.

b) I like orange juice with the pulp.

c) Orange juice makes my throat hurt.

TWO
a) The first CD I ever owned was a jazz CD.

b) I won my Grade 6 class spelling bee.

c) I’ve never been on an airplane.

THREE
a) Paul is actually my middle name.

b) I really like the apple pies from McDonald’s.

c) I was a child model for a restaurant brochure.

FOUR
a) When I was a kid (like, really young), I thought toilets were also used as bathtubs for babies.

b) I don’t like fruit punch.

c) Was voted “Most likely to be Prime Minister of Canada” in Grade 8.

FIVE
a) I’ve never had a nose bleed.

b) I’ve been chased by a three-legged dog.

c) In elementary school, I did a card trick at the school talent show, but it didn’t work.

I’m supposed to nominate other people to do this too, so I nominate these fine bloggers:

Shaz: For The Love of Sass

Jess: You’re Fine

Peckapalooza: The Confusing Middle

Barb: Sane Teachers

Sooch: Lil Rant

Brittany: A Simple Dose of Reality

Rules: Post 5 sets of 2 truths and 1 lie. Force people to leave their answers in the comments section. Reveal the answers within a day or two.

Have fun with it!

Again, let me know in the comments below what you think I’m lying about. Feel free to question me on some things too, so I can give vague replies and build anticipation for the big reveal in the next post.

Bragging rights, and lefts, are on the line. You don’t want to be left out, so be right.

I’m full of catchphrases today.

I’ll be quiet now.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to 2 Truths, 1 Lie

  1. Miriam says:

    Good fun Paul, I’ll take a stab in the dark.
    1.B is false
    2.C is false
    3.C is false
    4.B is false
    5.A is false
    Somehow I don’t think I’m gonna win a car. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wordiness24 says:

    This was so hard. But I think:
    1.C
    2. A
    3.A
    4.B
    5. A

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Isabella Simons says:

    Force people to leave their answers in the comments! 😂
    1-c (how can like orange juice if it hurts your throat?)
    2-a 3-c 4-c 5- b

    Liked by 1 person

  4. celiamae12 says:

    Hmm,

    1-B
    2-A
    3-B
    4-B
    5-A

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jess says:

    I feeeeeeel like I should nail this…
    1.) B (you seem like someone who wouldn’t like pulp…)
    2.) A
    3.) C
    4.) B
    5.) A

    I’M GOING TO BE REALLY UPSET IF I’M WRONG ABOUT ALL OF THEM.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lies 1.a) 2.b) 3.a) 4.c) 5.c)

    Lolol let me know if I’m right!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Little Rants says:

    Not gonna make a fool of myself but I think you actually WERE A CHILD MODEL! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Haha. Oh my gosh let’s see how this goes. Here are what I think are falsies.
    1) c (one of the orange juice ones has got to be false!)
    2) a
    3)b
    4) b
    5) b

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This seems to be fun haha, so I gotta point out the lies, right? (I’m no good in these games, I always mess up the rules).

    1) B
    2) C
    3) B
    4) B
    5) B
    lots of B’s in there, hmm.. anyway, I’m looking forward to your post haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Announcement Coming Tuesday | The Captain's Speech

  11. aqilaqamar says:

    I think the false ones are as follows
    1. C
    2. C
    3. B
    4. B
    5. A

    Like

  12. James says:

    I genuinely tried to answer properly but it was too hard, so I’ve adopted my usual multiple choice default and gone with the same answer for each.
    So the lies were all (b). I probably haven’t got that 100% correct, but I bet I haven’t got them all wrong.
    Actually I did pick (b) for quite a few anyway.
    Ok if pushed I’d actually say:
    1 (a)
    2(b)
    3(b)
    4(b)
    5(a)

    I like the idea that you like orange juice even though it hurts your throat and I have to believe you have been chased by a three-legged dog. Because why would you lie about that?
    Why?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Most people default to (c) when doing multiple choice. I like your desire to be different and go with (b)! You might be on to something here with that orange juice comment. You’re a smart one, James.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. rebbit7 says:

    Gonna give it a go (doubt I got any of them right, but worth a shot!).

    #1-4 are c’s, and #5 is a. Can’t wait to see the results this week!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. peckapalooza says:

    I’m a day late on this. I blame trying to get back into real life after vacation. I’ll play along, but it might be a day or so before I get around to posting my own truths and lies. As for trying to answer yours, I’ll give it a shot…
    1. C (I went back and forth on this one like Vizzini trying to figure out which cup has the poison)
    2. A
    3. C
    4. B
    5. A (B is too hilarious to not be true)

    Like

  15. Pingback: Answers: 2 Truths, 1 Lie | The Captain's Speech

  16. so interesting to try this – found writing my own almost as hard 😉
    here goes – “lies” =
    1 B
    2 C
    3 A
    4 C
    5 A
    I really have no idea !!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

