From The Ground Up

I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about how it all went wrong
Digging and digging until I finally found the right song
But it always ends with a blank ceiling and a soft pillow
Go ahead and add another line to the tally

Sometimes I’ll stare at a book and forget how to read
I tell myself an imagination is all I need
And I’ll send my thoughts into the pages
Before slamming them shut so they’re finally quiet

If you ask me a question I might not reply
And if you ask it again one of us will probably cry
At the end of the day we just wanted to try
I just wanted to try

Sometimes my body is overcome with a chill
Maybe it’s a sign of free will
For a moment it feels alright
And for a moment it feels okay
If only this arm around me would stay

Clarity can be hard but not like a rock
You can throw that away or skip it down a stream
This one finds a home in your back pocket
And is washed away on laundry day before it can be found

I used to love the way the sun said good morning
I probably still do
But it’s one of the small things in this life
That has been buried under
Sitting and enjoying the silence was an eighth wonder

The moments frozen in time like to make house calls
Begging me to introduce them to each other
And the perspective always comes from me but never my own eyes
They’re scenes for a feature film that will never hit the big screen
A never-ending trailer in a theatre for one
And that butters my popcorn just fine

I keep winning the lottery without buying a ticket
Cash my winnings and return to the parking lot
Every space is empty except for two
One is me and one is you
Whatever you are
We’ll grow from the ground up

We’ll grow from the ground up because
They say if you live in the past you die every day
But if I make it through this fire
Maybe the flames will burn away the mask I’ve always seen
I’m just so tired of every day being Halloween.

image1

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to From The Ground Up

  1. Issa says:

    Damn that’s good

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam says:

    So.much insight here. I love this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. curious•pondering says:

    Fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. ForTheLoveOfSass says:

    I guess when I stopped writing poems, you started haha! Another amazing one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. casondra2rey says:

    I’ve been soo busy to blog on my own page, but this being the first thing I read coming back sure was nice. good job my friend. can’t wait to get back into it, so refreshing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. boomergirl47 says:

    Great imagery:
    For a moment it feels all right
    And for a moment it feels okay
    If only this arm around me would stay.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post. Reminded me of this song (one of my current faves): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ODRWKGIxB4M

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Thank you! Haha when I decided on the title of this post I Googled the name to see if was already a song and came across this song. Instead of changing the name of my post, I was hoping no one would notice it’s the name of a song too. I notice they have the whole sunset scene in their video too…clearly stolen from me!

      Like

  8. Little Rants says:

    This is so nice, but please bring Paulo back now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.