A Special Time

I didn’t want to be there anymore
but I had just arrived
so I sat down
held a pencil in my hand
and hoped it would stop shaking

the sweat dripped from my brow
as I looked up at the clock
now begging to leave
rushing through the process
just so I could get back

that was the first time I woke up
and finally saw what was going on
everything around me was so clear
and in mere seconds
it would all disappear

one by one
they said their goodbyes
each hug tighter than the last
and it just didn’t seem fair
that I was still there

there was nothing left to look at
all the signs came down
the walls were bare
I looked on with a blank stare
wondering where it all went

I sat on the floor in the hallway
wanting to be somewhere else
with my head down
and my hood up
the tears came down

if anyone should’ve known
it would’ve been me
but it wasn’t
I had never felt that way
I had never missed anyone before

I didn’t know how to say goodbye
to the people who changed my life
and made me happy and comfortable
to be in my own skin
I just didn’t know how

it was the best piece of me
and it was ripped out of my heart
a taste of reality
remained in my mouth
for me to chew on

as sad as it was
I needed it to happen
a free life lesson
that money could never buy
really changed everything

I made a promise to myself
that I wouldn’t wait until the end
to remember the beginning
laugh about the middle
and cherish it all

in the years after that
it didn’t get easier
as the permanent end drew closer
but I was content
knowing I had no regrets

five years have gone by now
goodbyes still aren’t good
but they aren’t forever
and you never know
who is waiting to say hello

sometimes I worry it was all a dream
and I’ll wake up one day with no recollection
because it was too good to be true
a perfect memory
of a special time.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Special Time

  1. Miriam says:

    Obviously a memorable time Paul. Well penned.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Cezane says:

    Touchy poem 🙂 Indeed Goodbyes are never good, but its never goodbye is it…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a great reminder to appreciate where we are and not plan too much for the future or dwell too much in the past. Every day is precious, and every season has its purpose.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. “I made a promise to myself
    that I wouldn’t wait until the end
    to remember the beginning
    laugh about the middle
    and cherish it all ” Love these lines Paul. I’m trying to work on the laughter more. I need more silly and less serious.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Em says:

    Wow. Just wow. And U2? Aw, you know good music bro, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this…This is like looking two years into my future. I Have two years left of college and I’m so afraid of it ending, of all the goodbyes, and being thrusted into a new reality. But the line “you never know who is waiting to say hello” gives me more hope in new beginnings. Wonderful piece! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Thank you! Leaving school for good does suck in that you’ll never be in the same place at the same time as all the friends you made while you were there. But you’ll meet great people afterwards too!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Barb Knowles says:

    I think the key is being able to remember as strongly as you do (or as one does) while looking for a similar connection in the future. It will never be exactly the same, but shared experiences at any point can forge a strong bond. And you chose one of my favorite bands and songs. Lovely to read the poem, followed by a video that brings up wonderful memories and meaning for me as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      You’re so right about similar connections..I’ve definitely had many of those since my school days. This is one of my favourite songs too. I remember in high school we had to pick a song, let it play for the class, and then explain its meaning. I chose this one.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Barb Knowles says:

        One of my favorite U2 songs (I like almost every one) is The Sweetest Thing. The best line? “Blue-eyed boy meets brown-eyed girl; the sweetest thing.” And if you saw a picture of Tim and me standing together, you’d know why I love that song. The sound you hear in the background right now is Tim gagging. Ok, so I think it’s more romantic than he does.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I love how you wrote it 🙂
    I love U2…GREAT music

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

