Day Like Today

Well look at this
some morning bliss
it’s been awhile
let’s make a nice little pile
and turn the radio dial
listen to the news
oh, there goes another fuse
the story in the paper is sad
everyone is mad
even the funny looking guy in the ad
patience running thin
we can’t begin
waiting for the toast to pop
just stop
I begin to stutter
where’s the butter
and this is not
anything but an imaginary thought
fill the space
slow down the pace
walking like a zombie
where’s my other sock
I hate this clock
tick tock
this is back down
in a new town
forgot how to frown
I wore the crown
look out
the light is coming in
forget the dial
I have it right here on file
opening the blinds
surrounded by different kinds
and I think it’s funny
the other place had a bunny
not here
I’m in the clear
open the window just a crack
I feel it attack
running up and down my spine
so fine
a gentle breeze
careful not to freeze
forget the jacket
no racket
throw out the smelly ketchup packet
can I open my eyes
maybe lean in
and feel the surprise
today is rare
but what do I care
so content
nothing spent
it can’t be held forever
sometimes we must sever
not fair
just one more stare
don’t even dare
swatting a fly only takes a flick
after every tock is another tick
I’m sick
and the seat gets pulled out from under
causing a tailspin of wonder
someone get a compass
point me to the bliss
the other way
forget the day
it was one of many
I took for granted
the seeds have been replanted
we’re growin’
lookin’ at the veggies out back
they’re showin’
it ain’t snowin’
and the toast pops
underneath the glow of the sun
my number one
in the distance before
now right next door
just wait
there’s more
open the window
yesterday’s tomorrow
finally back
enjoy it like a midnight snack
a cool breeze never felt so warm
arms around the body so tight
disbelief it made the flight
breathe in and let out
I began to doubt
now I have a reminder
of when the world was kinder
a flashback so near
with weather so clear
why can’t every day bring the same
an attitude so tame
comfort is never lame
don’t go far
my shooting star
always one day away
from a day like today.


The Smashing Pumpkins – Tonight, Tonight 

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Day Like Today

  1. I just listened to this song again days ago!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a spectacular piece! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Smashing Pumpkins and this song. Also like the one about his high school days. (1979) – I think they got back together again? I was so sad when Billy (?) the lead singer stated he was “lyrically dead.” and would no longer be writing songs and performing?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. countingsheepstudio says:

    I love this so much, a typical day, yet with remembrance of that which has been left behind. Very poignant, beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the song and the poem. You got style, kid

    Liked by 1 person

  6. casondra2rey says:

    I can’t figure if I’ve heard this song before or just never seen the video? Either way, I like lol great post

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sometimes I’m just in awe of your creativity. Not flattery, just honest to goodness truth. And the Smashing Pumpkins are awesome, obviously.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. LosiLosLoco says:

    Y’know… you’ve got some great poetry here. It just ever so slightly bothers me that the grammar just falls away as you read it. But I know a good poem when I read it. So good on ya for that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Are you referring to the lack of punctuation? I keep going back and forth on it. On one hand I just want the words to be there and be read at a quick pace, and on the other I feel guilty for not putting commas or periods but I fear they would just slow down the pace of the poem.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

