Thirty-Nine

Unsure how it will be met
Holding my breath
Praying the joke
Will be answered with a laugh
Is this the way to meet?

Standing left to right
It could have gone left
Before it went right
As I stood on the right
Staring at my left

The lock opened
Forcing a clock to start ticking
Quietly at first
With a ladder placed against a wall
Leading to a ceiling far too low

And the days all tied together
With rope that could not be cut
Punctuated by a routine
Everyone thought they knew
The words between me and you

Tick without tock
Refusing to move for hours
Before learning every little something
About every big nothing
Wasn’t that something?

Nothing made sense
While making cents
Putting coins together over the heads
Beneath the ears
In front of the eyes

Water and wine
Never tasted so fine
In a glass half full
Soon to be half empty
After last call

Tock found tick
Jumping in the driver’s seat
Racing down the street
Wanting to find a mirage
Discovering a finish line, instead

With the ladder sturdy as ever
Heads hit the ceiling
Time to come down
From way up high
To take a look at what was built

The clock took off
Leaving behind its belongings
Scribbles etched in stone
Never to be forgotten
Or lost in translation

Distance hit a growth spurt
Leaving an empty space
But never an issue
You know I don’t need a tissue
To tell you I miss you.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Thirty-Nine

  1. Pingback: Thirty-Nine | lilrant

  2. Vamagandhi says:

    Scribbled spontaneously with a cup of coffee? Flow is good, thoughts a bit intended haywire, with bumps and pauses in rhythm. I also felt writer was a bit short of words.
    Overall – 9/10

    Liked by 2 people

  3. izza ifzaal says:

    Last line moved me !

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hmekeel says:

    Wow. This is beautiful. My favorite images are the one of the coin, and the head hitting the ceiling, and coming back down to see reality. Not going to lie, I did tear up a little bit. It’s very relatable even though I’m sure it’s very personal for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The second part was well done. I really enjoyed the right to left play. Nice!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. casondra2rey says:

    I loved your analogies. And don’t worry about sounding jumbled. I love it when people get lost in the moment and forget about making it sound perfect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Thank you, I appreciate that! Haha honestly when I write these poems I think they come out crisp and then people tell me they sound bumpy/jumbled which I don’t mind. I guess that’s become my style lol. You’re right though, I do get lost in just writing out the words and having it make sense to me, while hiding the overall meaning from readers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

