Like It Or Not

I can’t help but feel like Facebook just wants to be loved. And when it doesn’t feel loved, it starts to feel self-conscious and neglected. It will never express its true feelings. No. That would hurt too much. Instead, it sends subliminal messages like a high school student. How, you ask? Through sponsored polls.

What is a sponsored poll? Go on Facebook and you’ll see them. They hang out on the side of the news feed. Lately the polls have taken a drastic turn. A turn for what? I don’t know. Just a drastic turn.

I’m getting an overwhelming feeling that Facebook thinks it’s losing me, but they don’t want to come right out and ask.

FB1 2015-03-08 at 4.22.57 AM

Facebook is trying to make the world a better place? Huh? How? By forcing people to compare their life to their friends? Sorry. I should rephrase that last sentence. It should read: By forcing people to compare their life to people they haven’t had any contact with in the last five years?

Yeah, that’s more like it.

Are they hoping that I strongly agree, just to satisfy their ego? Just so they know I’m committed to them? I don’t know. Is Facebook really trying to make the world a better place? They will say yes. It’s users will probably say no.

Since when is it up to social media to make the world better, anyway?

Screen Shot 2015-03-19 at 5.48.31 AM

What about this one? Its best days are ahead? I don’t know. For me, Facebook’s heyday was 2011-2013. Ever since then, it seems to have died down. My news feed is occupied by posts from pages, more than posts from people. But hey, the Farmville requests have died! If only I could say the same for Candy Crush Saga. Stop it, friends.

Again, this poll just makes me think they want validation.

FB3 2015-03-10 at 10.39.34 PM

Man, they might as well ask, “Are you seeing someone else.” Yes, and her name is Twitter. She’s lovely. I think Twitter has passed Facebook in my social media rankings. Twitter makes me feel smarter, Facebook just makes me feel. STOP ASKING ME IF I LIKE A POST.

At least on Twitter I can get news from the world. Facebook just updates me on people I haven’t talked to since high school. And that’s no disrespect to them, it’s just the truth. I have 366 friends on Facebook. There are people with way more friends than that. Do we keep in touch with all of them? Nope. Not a chance.

FB2 2015-03-08 at 4.25.45 AM

See, now Facebook has caught on that I’m cheating on them with someone else and wants to know if I still, for lack of a better word, like them. By the way, I find it amusing that Facebook is referring to itself in third person for all of these polls. Maybe they have a separate company conducting them, who knows. I find it comical.

Screen Shot 2015-03-20 at 3.32.50 AM

This might be my favourite. It’s the equivalent to, “I’ve been calling and texting you all week and you didn’t respond.” I don’t answer these polls on Facebook. I just leave them there. Apparently they figured that out and are wondering if I even saw them.

Yeah, I saw them. I’m just not answering.

I’m wondering what poll is coming next.

“Does this layout make Facebook look fat?”

“Is there anything Facebook can do to make you stop seeing Twitter?”

I mean, the possibilities are endless. I always thought that writing fortunes for fortune cookies would be an amazing job. Now I’m thinking that creating poll questions on Facebook might be even better.

Earth to Facebook, people are getting tired of you. Mainly because we don’t like people as much as you think we do. Sure, we have our friends. But that person we met once, a few years ago, at the place, by the thing, for 5 minutes, who posts three times a day, can start to bug us.

Sure, we can unfriend them, but then we just accept a friend request the next week from someone who fits the same profile. But since we met them a day ago, we have to put in some time before we can justify unfriending them.

It’s all very messed up.

Will I ever leave Facebook? I don’t know if I can. The only way I talk to some people is through Faceboook Messages. If I quit, it’s not like I have MSN as a fall back plan. Man, I miss those days.

Also, I’m invested in too many poke wars to give up now.

Like it or not.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Like It Or Not

  1. I like being connected with my family via FaceBook, I do no like the many sponsored post and articles. I especially hate it when I click on an article that interests me and I find a website that doles the information out in many pages (click next) that are littered with ads and pop-ups. Small amounts of information, wrapped in copious amounts of “click me” greed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Oh yeah, I’ve given up on clicking on those articles. Sometimes they’ll trick you and make you like them automatically, and then your friends see that you like a weird article. Facebook just wants views and money.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve left facebook many times. But I always come back. Like a needy child.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. moxieluster says:

    I just ignore it, I only go on there for conversations with family and friends, and of course I have at least 2k pictures on there so I don’t see myself leaving just for the fact that I use it to store pictures, it is like my social photobucket or something. I have never tried Twitter, Instagram I was on their for one day and never came back, social networks never hold my attention. The only reason facebook has is because of all the pictures of memories and such I have on there.

    But those polls though..I think they are annoying and they remind me of that one clingy boyfriend/girlfriend that asks you 21 questions in a span of an hour..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      I have Instagram and I’m discovering it’s quite pointless. Why am I going to post a picture on Instagram when I can do the same thing on Facebook? Twitter is cool because it prevents people from ranting, and I can get news reports. AND no polls, either.

      Liked by 1 person

      • moxieluster says:

        I think I will try twitter out eventually. Just to see what all the fuss is about it. And instagram is more for the mom’s, and I am a mom, but it just didn’t make sense to me. I’d rather store my pictures on fb with the ability to make my albums private then have the whole world see it. Haha.

        Like

      • Paul says:

        Oh I can just imagine some mothers on Instagram putting up pictures of their kids. “Look (insert little kid’s name here), 58 people liked the picture I posted of you, and most of them are strangers!” A bit creepy. Good call sticking with Facebook.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Jessie Reyna says:

    If I could punch Facebook in the throat, I would. Since I live on the other side of the country, it’s my only form of communication with my family, which I hate. Facebook was fun high school back in like 2007. But now it’s filled with cranky grown adults complaining about politics and “thin/fat shaming”. I don’t know how much more I can take!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      I couldn’t agree with you more! So many people just want to get into debates about everything and I’m sitting here like, “you’re writing a 5 page essay in a Facebook comment.”

      Like

  5. I only occasionally visit my Facebook page. I can’t help but think that Facebook is feeling like a jilted lover when it comes to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Barb Knowles says:

    I went from embracing fb with all my being, reconnecting with people from my past, playing games, to the point where I just use messenger all the time. And the stalking! I bought my son a gift certificate for Xmas from a rather expensive store. I had never shopped there before. I clicked confirm purchase, went over to fb, and there, on the right-side of my newsfeed, were 4 sponsored ads for this store. Facebook owns me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

