Live Blogging: YouTube Music Videos

Live Blogging is something I want to start doing and see if it works. It’s like live tweeting, but on a blog. For instance, if a TV show or a sporting event is on, I’ll just write my thoughts out in a blog post, while I’m watching, and then publish it for all of you to read. You’re welcome.

My goal is to provide in-the-moment reactions to things I see, when I see them.

This is what I’m going to do:
1. Search a song on YouTube.
2. Listen to some of it.
3. Make comments while listening.
4. Click on a related video.
5. Listen to some of it.
6. Make comments while listening

And over and over and over again.

I’ll do this until I want to stop. Or until I get to a really weird part of YouTube that I can’t dig myself out of. You know the place.

Great, now that we have that out of the way, let’s gooo!

First search: Van Halen – Right Now

The beginning 45 seconds of this song might just be 45 of my favourite seconds of music.

I don’t know how this song isn’t played before every sporting event, everywhere in the world.

Oh, 45 seconds is done. Next song.

Nothing but Van Halen suggestions. Oh, great.

Panama it is.

Van Halen – Panama

These guys have a lot of hair on their head.

Panama…Panamaaa. Okay, I’m done. NEXT.

Poison – Unskinny Bop

Never heard of this song before.

I like music videos that have a little intro before the music starts, but at the same time I don’t. Especially when it lasts a whole minute like this video.

Oh it’s one of those songs.

By that I mean, I don’t like the beginning, let me skip ahead about a minute and see if anything changes.

It didn’t. NEXT.

Def Leppard – Pour Some Sugar On Me

What a waste of sugar.

Just googled it, Def Leppard is an English band? Who knew. Look out, One Direction, I guess.

Great song, but I’m not sticking around for five minutes. At least not this time. NEXT.

Warrant – Cherry Pie.

If this is what I think it is…

IT IS.

She’s myyyyy cherryyyyy pieee

Holy I feel bad for the people who had to edit this music video.

Every half second is a new camera angle. No wonder they only made the song 3 minutes long.

I like Apple Pie.

NEXT.

Testa – What You Give

Never heard of this song either. Let’s see what I’ve done.

Oh but first, A 30 SECOND COMMERCIAL ABOUT COVER GIRL. Fan flippin’ tastic….

This is another one of those songs…skip to a minute.

Not my cup of tea.

I don’t drink tea. NEXT.

Ugly Kid Joe – Everything About You

Never heard of this song either.

Nope. Not happening. NEXT.

Skid Row – I Remember You

Wow, I am knee deep in the part of YouTube where I’ve never heard of the related songs.

And now I know why…NEXT

I hope I’m not offending people who like these songs.

Lita Ford – Close My Eyes Forever

Remember when I said I was knee deep in the part of YouTube where I’ve never heard of the related songs? Now I’m armpit deep. HELP.

NEXT.

Poison – Every Rose Has It’s Thorn

Finally something I recognize!

Love the slow motion black and white video with music overlay. Do that in any video and you have me hooked.

Made it to the chorus, time to move on. NEXT.

Cheap Trick – The Flame

Well edited video. Kudos. Song isn’t bad either, but time to move on. NEXT.

Heart – Alone

BUT FIRST A COMMERCIAL FOR CREST WHITE STRIPES.

Hey, just brush your teeth, alright.

And the song begins…

She can’t reach a guy because he won’t answer his phone. See, if he had BBM she could see if he at least read the message or not. Then she could decipher whether or not he’s avoiding her. I’ll shut up now.

“How do I get you alone?”

Stalk him? I don’t know.

Good song. NEXT.

Europe – Carrie

I swear, I was meant to grow up in the 80s.

It’s obvious the song is about a girl named Carrie. They’re lucky it wasn’t something more obscure and less singable, like Antoinette or something. That’s no offence to anyone named Antoinette, it just doesn’t come out of the vocal cords like Carrie does.

Again, I’ll shut up.

NEXT.

Alphaville – Forever Young

Love this song.

THEY’RE GERMAN? Well, that explains the accent.

These guys want to be forever young. Sorry fellas, you get older every second.

57 million views. Wowee, these guys might have a future.

NEXT.

Live is Life – Opus

Hold the phone. Hold the darn phone!

I always thought this song was called “Life is Life” and thought that was a pretty dumb title.

BUT IT’S ACTUALLY LIVE IS LIFE?

My world is spinning. Upside down. Inverted. SPINNING.

Unbelievable. I wish these guy would enunciate more.

Oh, Opus.

NEXT.

Aqua – Barbie Girl

This should get interesting. The related videos are gonna jump forward about a decade.

I’ve lasted 23 seconds and can’t handle this song. COME ON BARBIE LET’S GO TO THE NEXT SONG.

NEXT.

Rick Astley – Never Gonna Give You Up

Classic. 100% classic.

Ever notice how he does the same dance move the entire song? The same thing.

Rock the hands and shift side to side.

I’M ON TO YOU RICK.

Gotta love his blue shirt with matching blue pants. And by “matching” I mean the exact same shade of blue. It’s like a onesie divided in two. A twosie?

Oh look, a guy in a white t-shirt tucked into blue jeans. I feel like that outfit defines an era. It also defines Homer Simpson.

Oh, this song has a fade out ending. The song doesn’t really end, the volume just goes down until you can’t hear it anymore.

NEXT.

The Killers – Mr. Brightside

I don’t know anyone that doesn’t like this song. Then again, I don’t really go around asking.

DOES ANYONE HATE THIS SONG? NO? GOOD.

I’ll be honest, the video is kinda weird.

NEXT.

Fall Out Boy – Thnks Fr Th Mmrs

BUT FIRST A TIDE COMMERCIAL.

So many cleaning products.

I like the name of this song. It says “screw you” to vowels and says words can exist without them.

This song came out in 2007? Wow. Shout-out Grade 10.

See kids, if you stay on YouTube long enough, the related videos will advance you about 25 years.

Not many good options for next songs. NEXT.

The All-American Rejects – Gives You Hell

I’m skeptically optimistic.

Ohhh it’s this song. NEXT.

Train – Drops of Jupiter

My goodness. This song is the song of the 90s, is it not?

No joke, this song played on the radio every car ride home after one of my softball games as a kid. This, and A Thousand Miles by Vanessa Carlton. Never failed. It’s like the radio station just played the same tape every day.

NEXT.

Kryptonite – 3 Doors Down

I credit this as my first ever favourite song. It’s slipped down the rankings over the years.

“You call me strong, you call me weak, but still your secrets I will keep.” Loyal friend, right here.

NEXT.

The Offspring – The Kids Aren’t Alright

The title of this song would send camp counsellors into a tizzy. A DOWNRIGHT TIZZY.

NEXT.

System Of A Down – Chop Suey!

Never heard of this song before. I’m assuming not many people have?

266 million views??? What, that’s it?

NEXT.

Nirvana – Smells Like Teen Spirit

People love this song. I’ve always thought it was just okay.

NEXT.

Gonna do three more songs.

Evanescence – Bring Me To Life

This girl is asleep in bed with the windows wide open with the wind blowing in. I’m setting the over/under at 1.5 days before she catches a cold. CLOSE THE WINDOW.

Oh, she’s awake. She’s walking toward the window. She’s gonna close it…NO SHE’S NOT. SHE’S WALKING ON THE WINDOW SILL OUTSIDE.

This won’t end well.

She keeps saying “wake me up inside.” I think she needs to wake up on the outside too.

Gotta love a strong, hurling wind.

NEXT.

30 Seconds To Mars – The Kill

Finally. I was wondering when I’d see my favourite band on the related videos list.

This is one of the only songs I like of theirs from their first two albums. Their next two albums were much better, in my opinion.

NEXT.

30 Seconds To Mars – Closer To The Edge

Of course I’m going to finish off with my current favourite song.

Almost 55 million views. Not bad. Needs more. By far one of the most underrated bands out there.

The music video for this is a piece of art. You should watch it.

DONE.

If I do this again with YouTube music videos, I’ll start off with Closer To The Edge and see where the related videos take me.

I hope this was somewhat enjoyable. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I’m pretty happy with how this turned out.

I’ll Live Blog again sometime soon about who knows what. Thanks for reading.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Live Blogging: YouTube Music Videos

  1. lilypup says:

    This was really good with the songs I knew. I loved the part where you “liked apple pie”. I came over from OM to say hi. Nice to meet you:) http://lilypupslife.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Talk about living in the moment!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lmao this is funny XD

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anonymous says:

    Lmfaooo!!!!!! 😂😂 I cannot believe you have never heard of the song Chop Suey from system of a down! That song was insane back in the day!!! I do however, know all these songs. Also, if you think music is “that side of YouTube” my god you don’t know the half of it! Wait till you watch those nasty giant pimple popping videos! Then see the related. It gets better lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      I was probably too young when the song came out to even know about it! Oh and don’t worry, I didn’t mean that music was “that side of YouTube”, I was just hoping that music videos wouldn’t somehow lead to those incredible pimple popping videos you talk about!

      Like

  5. Pingback: Live Blogging: Music Videos II | The Captain's Speech

Leave a Reply

