Quiet, I’m Napping

Let me tell you something about naps, they are one of the greatest activities in the world. If you don’t believe me, you probably don’t nap enough.

I’m serious.

Because when you nap, it’s something you feel you have to do.

“If I don’t go for a nap right now, I’m going to fall over.”

I don’t think we really say that at night when we all finally go to sleep. I mean, it gets dark outside. No one is texting or communicating via social media anymore. Nothing is on TV. Other than watching videos on the Internet, sleep is basically the only thing to do. Sleeping at night is habitual from the day we are born. It’s what we do. We sleep at night.

But a nap, though it may be a daily habit, can happen at any time of day. And when it does, oh man is it ever refreshing.

I’ve never been a big fan of the whole “you must get 8 hours of sleep every night” thing. Maybe I have a distorted opinion because of my sleepless nights in University where I coined the phrase, “It doesn’t matter when you sleep, as long as you sleep.” Which is true!

In case you’re wondering, I think the time limit for a nap to be considered a nap, and not a full on sleep, is somewhere between three to four hours. You’re welcome.

I used to have naps all the time as a kid. I think we all did. However, I didn’t really enjoy them. I would just lay on the couch with my eyes open, wondering how many more minutes before I could sneak off to the other room and watch TV, without my Mom calling me back to “nap.”

Naps were a pain back then. All the good shows were on in the afternoon, I didn’t have time for a nap.

Then I got to University and they became a part of my every day life. The decision between doing an assignment vs. napping was no contest. I chose napping every single time. Most students do. No one feels like doing work when lying on a bed, detached from the world for 3-4 hours, is an option.

I don’t regret it because I would stay up all night doing assignments and didn’t feel completely exhausted. Like I said, it does when you sleep, as long as you sleep.

Naps were like academic steroids. They enabled my procrastination and allowed me to stay awake throughout the night.

For some reason, I was always woken up from naps at school. Always interrupted. Someone banging on my door. People talking in the hallway. A fire alarm. A truck outside. Anything and everything.

I remember someone knocked on my door one time and I quickly got out of bed to answer it. I went to open the door, but couldn’t. My left arm was asleep! Completely numb. I couldn’t pick my arm up at all.

So what did I do? No, I didn’t use my right hand to open the door. That would be too logical. I grabbed my left hand with my right hand, and threw my arm into the air, so it would land on the door handle. I then opened the door with my left hand and my entire arm went back to sagging by my side as I talked to people.

And that, kids, is how you operate with an arm that’s asleep.

Now that I’m out of school, I still nap almost every day.

It just feels really good.

And if I don’t get a nap in, I know I’m going to fall asleep on the couch after dinner, and the TV will watch me.

People say food gives you energy? Food makes me tired. It always has.

The only problem with naps now, is that they make it impossible to fall asleep at night. It’s not like I have assignments to do anymore, which is why I normally blog during the night.

But that’s fine by me. All together now…”It doesn’t matter when you sleep, as long as you sleep.”

Can you tell I just woke up from a nap?

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Humour, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quiet, I’m Napping

  1. I wish I could nap. If I do, I can never sleep at night :(. I can’t keep up with you! You blog too much this week! LOL

    Like

  2. HILARIOUS. As you know, napping is how I’m surviving the madness of college (and I too was woken up by a fire alarm)- so I loved this! I can’t stop chuckling haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Paul says:

      Fire alarms were the worst! I got caught in the shower when the fire alarm went off back in first year. I had already slept through my first class that day and then basically went to my second class still wet haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello! ☺️ I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award!
    Check it out here –
    http://laurensaysitall.com/2015/01/06/the-versatile-blogger-award/
    Well done! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

