One Year Blogiversary

AnniversaryOn June 23, 2014, The Captain’s Speech celebrated it’s one year blogiversary. Today, I reflect.

When I started this blog in 2013, I didn’t know what to expect. Like most new bloggers, I didn’t think anyone would read my blog. I didn’t think anyone would care. I thought that if I posted a link to it on Facebook, people would just scroll past it in their news feed. I thought my blog would be completely irrelevant to everyone other than me.

I was wrong.

My friends had been telling me I should get into writing, so I started this blog. I’d like to say this blog was all my idea, but that would be a lie. If it weren’t for my friends this blog would not exist. Simple as that.

I started out writing about sports because that is my passion. If you’ve ever spent five minutes around me, you know I love sports. So that’s what I wrote about. Not even two months later I got bored.

Very few people were reading my blog and writing about sports wasn’t as thrilling as I thought it would be. Especially since everything I was writing about was already covered on hundreds of other sports websites.

Then everything changed.

September 4, 2013 – 2AM.

I’ll always remember that moment. I was gearing up for another late-night blogging session concerning something related to sports, but I just couldn’t get the words on the screen. My mind was on something else. It was on school.

School was starting up again in about 6 hours and there I was as far away from an educational institution as I have ever been. It was that moment my blog took a change of course. I wrote I Miss School, Already and everything changed.

After two hours of parlaying my sadness into words, I went to sleep. Later that day I found out that my post was going to be Freshly Pressed. To this day, I still can’t believe it.  I was shaking for two days.

All of a sudden people started reading my blog. People were interacting with me. People were relating to me. People were sharing my post. People all over the world were reading my thoughts. People I have never met before. It’s crazy to even think about.

I’ll always remember what one person from Australia said to me after they read my post. They said, “You just saved the rest of my college experience.” It was then that I realized that the words I write can impact other people in a positive way. That is what has encouraged me to keep blogging.

This past March I was Freshly Pressed for the second time when I wrote: Watching The Leafs Isn’t Fun Anymore. This time was even more shocking than the first time I was Freshly Pressed.

Two of the things I’m most passionate about – School and the Toronto Maple Leafs – are what got me featured. I’m proud of that. I still read those posts from time to time and see the raw emotion that is in both of them.

For new bloggers, that is the key to blogging. Don’t worry about style. Don’t worry about making things perfect. Just write. The sentences will form themselves. Don’t hold back and just let the words out.

Over the past year I’ve been able to meet and interact with people all around the world.

There are a distinct few that are regular readers of my blog, as I am theirs. You guys know who you are. I can’t thank you enough for your kind words and constant encouragement.

To my friends who are not on WordPress, thanks for the support. To hear that I’ve inspired some people to start blogging puts a smile on my face every time.

I started this blog as a post-graduate who was in the search of a new community to interact with. WordPress has given me that and a lot more. I don’t know where I would be without this blog.

I am not sure how long I will have this blog, but I hope it’s forever. I think it will be fun to look back at old posts five years from now and see what my life used to be like and how it has changed.

Until then, I will continue to write and hopefully my words can inspire others and/or make them laugh.

That’s all I want to do.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Year Blogiversary

  1. Happy anniversary you bun-yuck! :)) I returned yesterday! I have a lot of catching up to do in terms of your posts! Missed yah and missed reading your posts!! I’ll catch up surely in the next few days!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Congrats!!!! Never give up on your passions 😀

    Like

  3. Yay!!! Congratulations Paul on a fabulous year of writing. Your work continues to fascinate me, here’s to many more blogiversarys!

    Like

  4. Little Rants says:

    Your blogiversary is two days before my birthday! :)))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

