Type, Type, Trash Can

Type, Type, Trash Can.

Sounds like a spin-off of the famous childhood party game “Duck, Duck, Goose” doesn’t it? DOESN’T IT? Say yes, because that’s what I was going for.

Anyways, blogging is easy…most of the time.

For me, the easiest posts are the ones where I don’t have to think. My fingers take over like a bunch of volunteers moving first-year students into their dorms and I just sit back and let it happen. Just don’t drop anything.

Those are the posts where words flow and the backspace key doesn’t get touched.

I like those posts.

Then there are some posts that are like pulling teeth. The fingers stop moving. It’s as if all of the volunteers took a break and I’m forced to carry a fridge on my back up 8 flights of stairs. Look out below!

Some posts just don’t get off the ground.

It’s not for a lack of topics. There are at least three different things I’ve wanted to write about in the past week. Heck, there is a topic I’ve been trying to tackle for the last three months, but I haven’t been able to complete the post.

I go into them thinking it will be my next great post. I have a nice title that will grab people’s attention. I have a picture in mind that I can add to it. I have some really good one-liners that will strengthen the post. I got this in the bag. Just gotta spend an hour typing it out. No problem.

The posts start out well. As always, the introduction comes with ease. I don’t know why I’ve always been good with introductions, but they just come naturally. Most of the time I like to close my posts the same way I start them, or at least connect them in some fashion. (Now you’re curious to see my conclusion, aren’t you? AREN’T YOU? Okay, I’ll stop yelling). So the introduction, in essence, does the seemingly impossible task of killing two birds with one stone.

After the introduction, my ideas formulate into sentences. I insert my one-liner. A few similes and metaphors. Some unnecessary banter with myself. And a few sentences that start with “and”. Perfect, this is a classic Paul post. What can go wrong?

Then I stop. Not a rolling stop like most people make at stop signs. A complete stop. Like the kind you make at a railroad crossing when a train is passing.

All of a sudden, my post is 200 words and I’m done. The tank is empty. I have nothing else to say. I have no other points to make. I have no other directions to go in. Done. A complete stop. So much for this being my next great post.

Or sometimes I find that whatever I’m writing about is a topic that is too hard to explain. Have you ever texted someone, “It’s too hard to explain through text, I’ll explain in person.” That’s what I mean. Some things are easier said, than written. And although I basically write how I speak on this blog, some topics are too lengthy. I’m not interested in writing essays anymore.

I’m also not interested in posting something that is 200 words. I know that many people do it and can get their entire message across in 200 words. That’s great! I wish I could do that. But to me, I feel like I’m cheating myself with a short blog post. It doesn’t seem complete.

Or maybe I’m just long winded. Yeah, I’m long winded.

At this point, the “Move to Trash” button is activated.

The 200 words I thought would be at least an 800 word masterpiece are now gone. Back to square one.

As I write this post, my urge to pull the plug and activate that button is present. Perhaps my standards have become too high for blogging. I probably expect too much from myself now. I’ve been Freshly Pressed twice, and the “About Me” section of my blog claims I try to make every post better than the last. Thankfully no one has said I’ve broken that promise…yet.

Like most bloggers will tell you, I write for myself. I don’t write for the praise of others. That comes if it’s warranted. Nonetheless, I refuse to post something I’m not proud of, or something that I feel is incomplete.

The posts that meet the trash can are never forgotten about. They still fester in the back of my mind and WordPress purgatory until the trash is emptied. I hope to one day revive all of them and deliver a post that I’m proud of. Maybe the answer is to create a mega-post and call it, “Rejects Reunion” and mesh together a variety of failed topics that couldn’t stand alone. Could be fun, or a disaster. I’ll think about it.

Ironically enough, it looks like this post about posts that don’t meet my standards, is meeting my standards. If you had to read that last sentence a second time, don’t worry, so did I.

If you’ve never “canned a post” (as the kids call it these days) (do kids even blog?) then I commend you. Clearly, you are a far better portrayer of thoughts than I!

If you’re like me and some of your posts never get published and oftentimes meet the trash can, well then I guess we better figure our stuff out and stop contributing to the WordPress landfill. That stuff smells.

Type, Type, Publish.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Type, Type, Trash Can

  1. markbialczak says:

    Save them in drafts, Paul. That way any salvageable paragraphs, or ideas, are still there on your WordPress dashboard for later pickings. That Trash button is so final! Just a suggestion from a guy with drafts on his Dashboard.

    Like

    • Paul says:

      That’s a good point that I probably should’ve mentioned. I do save some of them as drafts, but many of them gets trashed either out of heat of them moment or because I don’t think they have any potential. Fortunately WordPress keeps them in the trash until we permanently delete them from the trash so i can go back and save them. Thanks for the comment, as always!

      Like

      • markbialczak says:

        As long as you can dive back in, Paul. ‘Draft’ makes me feel more secure for some reason! Good post today on the frustrations of getting these stories just the way you want them to be. It’s never easy.

        Like

  2. amaothman says:

    Reblogged this on ama othman and commented:
    The real deal. How I feel and think before and during my writing.

    Like

  3. Brilliant as always! It’s always inspiring how you push yourself to write well thought-out posts.

    Like

  4. aqilaqamar says:

    Reblogged this on Iconography ♠ Incomplete and commented:
    For me even the font and how the ink pushes its way on paper factors into how I write 😛

    Like

Leave a Reply

