An Ode To The Internet

O look at you sitting there on my computer screen,
I’ve been accessing you since before I was a teen;
First it was Explorer and then Safari,
Thank you for letting me search pictures of calamari.

I used Yahoo back in the day,
But avoid it now unless it has something important to say;
Many agree that Google is king,
I don’t ever see myself using Bing.

Facebook is one of the most popular sites, 
It’s a place for spelling and grammar fights;
As pictures and statuses flood my feed,
I’m reminded that a “like” is all they need.

Twitter is where people tweet, tweet, and tweet some more,
Just like the birds outside, every morning at four;
Communicate with friends and celebrities until you’re a nag,
Just as long as you create a really long hashtag.

Wikipedia made homework such a breeze,
Even though it turned out to be a tease;
It’s an unreliable source the teacher said,
Gimme a break I just wanted to go to bed.

Fantasy sports are a full-time job,
I don’t even have time to eat corn on the cob;
It’s a sad moment when one of my players gets hurt,
To the waiver wire I go to pick up some guy named Kurt.

YouTube doesn’t allow videos that are bad,
What do you mean I can’t skip this two minute ad?
Read the comment section and you might die,
Have no fear the chain letters are a lie.

Watching television shows has never been so easy,
Season finale cliffhangers make me feel queasy;
While some watch The Walking Dead in a sweat,
I’m wondering how Carl isn’t dead yet.

Clear the browser history,
The past is a mystery;
Bookmark a page,
You’re in the committed stage.

I can’t believe you’ve been around for 25 years,
When you crash, people are bored to tears;
And thus is the world wide web,
Responsible for making eyeballs red.

Fin.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Humour, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An Ode To The Internet

  1. Omg! Paul! Your a freaking poet and you didn’t even know it! I’m kidding 🙂 all jokes aside. *slow progressive round of applause* well done Paul, well done. I smiled the entire time reading this and already showed this to 3 people. This is ingenious. Love Love love it! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: I Love A Good Challenge | The Captain's Speech

  3. Blunderdad says:

    hahaha, I just wrote my second poem, “Ode to my couch”. I think I like yours better.

    Like

  4. Pingback: What Do You Blog About? | The Captain's Speech

  5. BookwormwithOpinions says:

    Reblogged this on imperfectioninanutshell.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

