A Word On The Weather

I understand that everyone wants warm weather. I understand that people are fed up with the cold weather and the immense amount of snow. I understand that people are tired of wearing warm clothing. I understand that people are tired of straining their back when they shovel their driveway. I get it. I really do. Just stop complaining about it. On Facebook, on Twitter, and on the expression on your face. I’m tired of it. Just stop.

If you’re wondering when winter is going to end, you haven’t been paying attention. This is exactly why we had Groundhog Day a month ago, is it not? So that we would know, without a shadow of a doubt, when winter would end and the warm weather would begin.

Let me just state that I think Groundhog Day is the most ridiculous “holiday” on the calendar, but a lot of people take it seriously. Especially people who complain about the weather. Don’t deny it now, I saw all of your Facebook statuses and Twitter tweets.

SO…

The all-knowing groundhog told us that there would be 6 more weeks of winter. I think people have forgotten about this. Guys, we are currently in week 5 of this prophecy. If we are still having winter weather after the 6 weeks have passed, then by all means complain and start to question the means by which we receive our weather forecasts. Heck, even start a petition to replace the groundhog with an animal that can actually talk, like parrots. Because heaven forbid we have to rely on a fury friend’s shadow for one more year.

But until then, deal with it. Call it a “polar vortex” all you want. I call it “the weather we normally have this time of year.”

For my fellow Canadian complainers, we are winter…remember?

For those who don’t know, Canada’s Olympic slogan was, “We Are Winter.” I hated that slogan the moment I laid my eyes on it. Mainly because I knew that people would become infatuated with it and put it in all of their tweets, only to complain about the weather in their next tweet. Just be consistent, that’s all I ask. And are “we” really winter? Is that the message “we” want to tell the world? I’d rather our slogan be, “We Are Winners.” Oh wait, we’re too polite to be that cocky. Sorry.

Rant over.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Word On The Weather

  1. markbialczak says:

    I know I am in the legion of complainers, Paul. And in upstate New York, I think we might well be honorary Canadians. Sorry. I’ll stop tomorrow. Promise.

    Like

    • Paul says:

      Hey Mark, this blog post was specifically directed at just people I have on Facebook and Twitter haha. Truth be told I genuinely enjoy reading your blog about the weather and the pictures you post because I can see how others places are affected. This post was made out of frustrations of things I see every day. Wasn’t directed at you at all! Please keep posting!

      Like

  2. Ahah! The only thing I have against the weather is the mentally challenged people operating automobiles on the road. I’m sorry, that’s offensive to the mentally challenged. Pretty sure they can drive alot better then the morons who do not have disabilities. I’m pretty sure my Facebook and twitter page is always exploding with pictures of people’s driveways and how much snow they have to shovel. It really is annoying. Last night was pretty nice interns of weather. We cracked out the BBQ and made moose burgers last night. Canada’s weather is just fine the way it is. Until we have ice storms that knock out our power. Then we have a problem. Fun post! 🙂

    Like

  3. Nice post! I agree that there is too much complaining on social media about the cold weather. Where I live, this winter we broke the record for our area’s coldest winter since the early 1900’s! I do completely miss spring and I’m over this whole winter thing, but I do agree that people don’t need to complain so much on Facebook and Twitter about it.

    Like

    • Paul says:

      Thanks for the comment! Wow, well at least you can say you were apart of history! Yeah I’m ready for warm weather too, just tired of seeing people complain about winter all the time.

      Like

      • You’re welcome! That’s a positive perspective! Yes I’m not a fan of cold weather, but I definitely don’t need to be reminded of it on social media every day.

        Like

Leave a Reply

