‘Tis The Season

Christmas is in two days and I can’t believe it. It seems like the days are flying by and Christmas has just snuck up on us. Or maybe it’s just me.

To me, it doesn’t feel like Christmas. Yes, the tree is up, presents have been bought, and Home Alone has been on TV ad nauseam. But something is different.

I see presents under the tree and they don’t excite me like they once did. I’m not trying to guess what is in each one or giving big boxes a shake. They are just sitting under the tree, untouched.

Normally I look forward to Christmas because it means that I am moving back home for two weeks and exam season is over. That isn’t the case this year. I’ve been home all along. And as Christmas approaches, it just seems like another day, even though it isn’t just “another day”.

I went Christmas shopping last week. Which means for one day, I had a strong dislike for people and malls.

There is no doubt in my mind that Christmas shoppers are the absolute worst.

I don’t know why, but I always seem to get stuck behind a bunch of slow walkers at malls. And I can’t get around them because of the oncoming traffic. So I have to wait it out until a path opens up. While I’m walking below the speed limit, there are speed-walkers behind me who are following too closely and would crash into me if I were to stop abruptly.

Maybe malls should have four-way stops and traffic lights. I don’t know what the solution is, but I have never walked behind fast walkers at a mall, ever. I always get stuck behind the slow ones. Funny how that works.

And then there are the people that walk directly at you and expect you to move out of the way. What’s up with that? This lady was walking right at me with a child in a stroller. She’s lucky I noticed her at the last second and moved to the side or we would have been calling a tow-truck to clean up the carnage. What the heck? You have a stroller, see that I’m not looking straight ahead, and yet still fail to move to the side? Yeah, that’s my fault. Come on.

Then I finally get in a store and the employees are on me like a hawk. “Can I help you with something?” (No thanks, I’m just looking.) “Did you find everything you wanted?” (No, I just got here.) “Would you like to buy this as well?” (NO.) “It’s Christmas, it’s no time to be cheap.” (Adios, amigo. Lost a customer.)

I know they are trying to sell me as much as possible and take advantage of “Christmas spirit”, but leave me alone. I’ll let you know if I want to buy something I don’t want to buy.

Then when you decline their offer for a “deal”, they give you a disgusted look and move on to the next customer. What do you want me to say? I’m sorry, I don’t want to buy what you offered me?

I’m not one that succumbs to constant nagging. In fact, I’m less likely to do something the more you bug me about it. So when salespeople constantly come up to me with an offer, they are hurting themselves.

The mall becomes a war zone during the holidays. People mean well, but they all compete with each other. No one wants to get to a store and realize the item they want is sold out. Then they face the repercussions on Christmas when they see disappointment on the faces around the room.

I get it. But I also hate it. I just want to get in and get out. I’m not the type of person who will wander around a mall for three hours and take a lunch break in between. The less time I spend around slow walkers and maniacs behind strollers, the better.

I think I’m just caught in the monotony of Christmas right now. It’s the same every year. Maybe I’m *gulp* growing up and it has lost a bit of lustre. I don’t know what the problem is.

I do know that the best thing so far this holiday season has been an unexpected Christmas card I received from a friend in the mail. That has been the highlight.

When Santa Claus comes to town in two days, I have no doubt that I’ll be the first one awake at 7AM, resume my role of handing out presents, send Merry Christmas texts to a dozen friends, look forward to a feast at Nonna’s, and enjoy the day like I have for the last 22 years.

But for right now, Christmas is Wednesday. And Wednesday does not feel like Christmas. Even though I’m constantly reminded, ’tis the season.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ‘Tis The Season

  1. Great post and completely true in every way! I’m totally one of those 3 hour (or more) with a lunch in between mall people.. but I avoid them at any cost from November to January. Probably the only time of the year that I’m glad Yellowknife has ZERO malls. 🙂

    Like

    • Paul says:

      Thanks! No malls eh? Sounds fantastic. Also, I bet you’re laughing at us complaining about our weekend ice storm out here when that’s basically what you live in for months out there.

      Like

      • I will admit some of the photos/videos I’ve seen of the Toronto area story are scary. Hope you stayed safe during all of that!

        We don’t get ice storms up here like that, just the insane cold and some fluffy snow. Although today it’s -18 and I was over the moon happy because it’s so warm compared to the -40 lately. 😉

        Like

      • Paul says:

        I’m fortunate that my house never lost power. Branches have fallen from my tree but that’s it. Other houses have their tree in the middle of the street, so I definitely lucked out. And -18? That’s basically shorts weather lol.

        Like

  2. markbialczak says:

    You seem to be a bit Grinch-ie this Christmas, Paul. That’s OK. It’s hard to adjust to being back home for the holidays. Merry Christmas to you and your family, from south of the border.

    Like

    • Paul says:

      Yeah, I don’t mean to put a damper on Christmas. I’ll be fine in two days though. Merry Christmas to you and your family as well, Mark! I’ll be on your side of the border in a week. Hopefully there isn’t an ice storm like the one currently here in Toronto.

      Like

  3. markbialczak says:

    I hope this nomination is taken in cheery Christmas spirit Paul. You are so worthy of the brand new Innovative Blogger Award, minted this very evening by one Don Charisma.
    http://markbialczak.com/2013/12/24/i-add-the-inventive-blogger-award-to-my-trophy-case/

    Like

  4. Buon Natale Paul!! :):)

    Like

Leave a Reply

