Things Change

I’m going to attempt a short blog post this time. Mainly because I don’t have much to say and there is a baseball playoff game on my TV right now. Priorities…

It’s amazing how quickly things can change in this world. Each day moves at the same pace, but things never stay the same. I never realize that things are changing, until I look back on something and realize it was many months ago – rather than a few days.

Friends seem to come and go. Are lifelong friends even possible? The people I ate lunch with every day in high school, I’ve only seen them about 10-15 times in the last four years. I don’t know what that means, even though I know we’re still friends and stay in contact with each other online.

I’ve been out of University for a month and already feel the disconnect from my friends still at school. Just five months ago, we all said that nothing would change and we would remain in contact with each other. I guess we were good liars. Things aren’t the same. Things have changed.

I don’t like change. I’ve never liked change. I’m the one who always gives a weird look when someone says “change is good”. Sure, I guess sometimes it is. However, when everything is good, why seek change? Whatever happened to “you can never have too much of a good thing”? If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! Right?

I don’t know what my point is in all of this. Maybe I had too much time on my hands today and started thinking back to different points in my life and I realized how long ago things actually were.

I’ve come to realize that I have a photographic memory. Or, at least, I think I do.

Like my first year of high school. I can still picture everything about my first day of Grade 9, including the route I took throughout the school to get to all of my classes. I remember the order of my classes, my locker combination (44-29-54), the teachers, my lunch period, and my assigned seat in each class. Everything. It’s kinda scary. It seems like yesterday. It was 8 years ago. Wow.

My first year working at a summer camp was 3 years ago. It feels like I was just there last week. I can remember the kids’ names. The counsellors I went to talk to whenever I had the chance. The kids who were a nuisance. The kids who never finished their lunch, so I would (the chicken burger at camp was my kryptonite). And which 5-year-old girls had a crush on me. There were at least 4 of them. Oh man, that was an experience.

I can visualize so many individual moments in my life, and on paper, they should be a distant memory, but they aren’t. My motto is, “If you can’t remember something, it’s not important”. This motto has filled my mind – like a filing cabinet – with memories.

So I guess the point of this post is simple. Things always change. You can never say anything with 100% certainty because you don’t know what the future holds. You can’t make promises you, probably, can’t keep. Things change. People change. Friends change. Jobs change. Our lives change. Somehow, we all grew up and didn’t realize we were growing at all.

Aspects of our life that we think will be with us forever, won’t be. When we realize they are missing, it’s too late. The change has already taken place.

For once, I just want things to stay the same. I don’t think that’s possible, though.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Things Change

  1. Totally agree. It’s sad but true. I do have some friends, however, who even though we don’t communicate that much anymore it still feels like they’re just there by my side, as though our minds and hearts sync by the minute. So when I write a personal message to them on Facebook, I don’t begin with ‘Hi’ or ‘Hello’ anymore; and when they reply to me, it feels like I didn’t miss that much. It’s the same feeling I feel for my family despite the physical distance separating us.

    As to ‘Mr. Change’, well, he keeps us going, isn’t he?

    Like

Leave a Reply

