TV Talk: Breaking Bad, Survivor, Dexter, & More

This post is long overdue. I claim to be a blog about sports, life, and TV shows, but have only written one post about TV. Sorry. I’m sure some of you check my blog every day in anticipation of a post about TV shows and are disappointed every single time. Then, you go to sleep thinking, “maybe tomorrow.” Well, the tomorrow, you thought about yesterday, is today!

Wow, that’s two blog posts in a row where my opening paragraph has been weak.

Anyways, TV!

THE FOLLOWING SENTENCES MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS THAT YOU DON’T WANT TO KNOW ABOUT. STOP READING NOW IF THIS APPLIES TO YOU.

I’ll start off with Dexter. Dexter lasted eight seasons; the series finale was last Sunday. I only started watching Dexter about 5 months ago. Here’s a free tip to anyone still in school – don’t start watching a new TV series during your final exam period, unless you want to be distracted, as much as possible. Watching one episode of a TV show, online, can be classified as a study break. Watching 5 episodes, in a day, is just pure procrastination. I regret nothing.

For those of you who don’t know, Dexter is about a man named, Dexter. Of course it is. By day, he is a blood splatter analyst for the Miami Metro Police Department. By night, he is a serial killer who chops up the body of his victims and dumps them in the ocean. Oh, the things on TV these days.

I thought it was a great series with a fitting ending. Dexter sent his son and Hannah to Argentina and told them he’d meet them there once he killed one final obstacle. Well, he never made it to Argentina. He faked his own death and became a lumberjack. So many people hated this ending, or didn’t understand it. What wasn’t there to understand? He said that he ends up destroying the lives of the people he loves. Clearly, he didn’t want to do that anymore, so he removed himself from the situation and decided to live on his own.

I don’t know if people wanted a happy ending, or what? It’s a TV show. We don’t write it; we watch it. The happy ending would have been too predictable and easy. This ending made sense, if you paid attention. Dexter was a guy who chopped up bodies; now he is chopping up trees. Fitting, I’d say.

Now on to another gruesome show, Survivor. First of all, I don’t think I could ever be a contestant on Survivor. I’d love the strategy and challenges aspect, but the living conditions? I wouldn’t mind sleeping outside, or the animals, bugs, or anything else. I just don’t know if I could starve myself for 39 days. Yeah, they have rice, beans, fish, and coconuts everywhere. But man, these people are starving by day 3! I don’t know if I’d be able to operate without food; it would be quite the challenge. I’d probably spend 5 hours at a buffet, the day before I went on the show, in order to compensate for the lack of food I would encounter.

The 27th season, “Blood vs. Water”, started two weeks ago and this time they brought back returning players, along with a loved one of each player. They put the returning players on one tribe, and the loved ones on the other. I still don’t know why any of the players were shocked that this happened. What, you thought that they would really let you play alongside someone you know, for the entire game? This is Survivor. There is a twist every 48 seconds. Think people!

I think this season has potential to be one of the best. Yeah, Rupert is the first one gone and we’ll all miss the big hippie in the woods, but the multiple layers of strategy that are required to win this season, are incredible.

By the way, if you go on Survivor…don’t act like an idiot on the first day. You make it too easy for your tribe to vote you out first. Easy for me to say from the comfort of my couch, I know.

Breaking Bad. The series finale is this Sunday! Too bad I’m stuck in the middle of Season 2. Still 3.5 more seasons to go before I can find out what everyone will be talking about on Twitter and everywhere else on the Internet on Sunday.

Please, no one spoil it. Don’t give away details on Twitter. Just don’t. It’s an unwritten rule. You have to wait at least a week before you can give details about a show on a social media site. Sure, give your reaction to what happened, but no spoilers! Even if I’m scrolling quickly through my timeline, one word might jump out and ruin everything. I think people who spoil shows on Twitter or Facebook, within one week of it airing, should be suspended from social media for a month. Harsh? No. It’s common courtesy! Give people a chance to watch it online. Alright, rant over.

Breaking Bad is truly a great show. The main character has lung cancer, a pregnant wife, and a son with cerebral palsy. He only has a couple of years to live and wants to leave as much money behind for his family as he can. Understandable, right? And being a high school chemistry teacher, he secretly gets into the drug business as a way to make money.

We sympathize with him, just like we did, Dexter. Sure, they are doing illegal things, but we, as the audience, can understand it. If it happened in real life, we wouldn’t condone any of this. Gotta love the power of TV to create an alternate reality while also giving real life criminals many new, innovative, ideas.

I’ve only watched about 11 episodes, but man, it’s good. If you haven’t watched it, WATCH IT!

What else am I currently watching…..?

MasterChef Junior. Just started tonight so I won’t give away too much. But basically, it’s 24 kids, aged 8-13, who are in a cooking competition. And this isn’t a hotdog or cookie making competition, either. These kids are putting together dishes I didn’t even know existed. They’re saving money for culinary school at age 8! EIGHT! I don’t think I even knew the word “culinary” at that age. It’s an impressive show that really makes you feel bad about yourself and your lack of cooking abilities. These are the kid geniuses of the kitchen. I’m setting the over/under at 3.5 episodes before one of them burns or cuts themselves. They’re kids! Away from the stove and sharp knives, right?

Season 4 of The Walking Dead premieres on October 13. If you haven’t watched this show, you have about two weeks to catch up. It is the greatest show on television, you might as well watch it – unless you don’t like zombies or a lot of blood. In that case, watch The Price is Right.

That’s it for now. I’ll have some posts about sports coming out in the next few days. Until then, watch some TV!

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV Talk: Breaking Bad, Survivor, Dexter, & More

  1. daisila says:

    Reblogged this on Daisy Ibarra and commented:
    L

    Like

Leave a Reply

