Nik Wallenda went for a walk, that’s all

This man might die. I might be watching the last steps this man ever takes. Without warning, my television screen may cut to black and return to two, distraught, teary-eyed, news anchors who say, “Ladies and gentlemen, we have some tragic news to announce…”

That is precisely what was running through my mind while Nik Wallenda tight rope walked across the Grand Canyon like it was a walk in the park. Oh yeah, no harness, either.

I first heard of Wallenda when he walked across Niagara Falls on a tight rope. Back then, I thought it was pretty insane, but he was wearing a harness. Although it was a great accomplishment, some might think it was tainted because he was wearing a harness. Sure he still had to walk across the tightrope, which very few, if anyone else in the world could do – but was he a true “dare devil” if he didn’t stare death right in the eyes? Well, he answered that question last night when he walked across the Grand Canyon, sans harness.

After what I witnessed last night, I am starting to believe that Wallenda is not human. He is not like the rest of us. The first thing he asked for when he made it to the other side was a bottle of water. Most people would probably ask for a change of pants, and not just because he was wearing jeans.

Unbelievable. Simply unbelievable. He did what no man has done before. He did not think he could do it. He KNEW he could do it. I think most people watching from home felt more nervous for him than he did. Some people are scared of their own shadow. This guy was on a tight rope 450 metres above ground, wearing jeans, and didn’t flinch, despite the wind he had to deal with.

Well done, Wallenda, well done.

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nik Wallenda went for a walk, that’s all

  1. Gina says:

    I mean, just unbelievable. That fact that anyone would even think in their head, “Yeah, I should definitely walk across the Grand Canyon,” nonetheless actually DOING it, is absolutely mind boggling to me. I mean, this guy is insane. And not dead. I’m not sure which is more ridiculous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

