Leading Off

Welcome to my sports blog: The Captain’s Speech.

Before I get into what I plan to talk about in future posts, let me explain the title of the blog. In University, I was the Captain of my intramural team for various sports. My team was different…very different. We had personalized t-shirts, a scouting department, a team meal at Mandarin before a playoff game, and pre-game speeches. I made it a habit of regularly giving my teammates a pre-game speech and sometimes a mid-game speech. Why? That is what Captains do. They rally a team. They give confidence to the unconfident. They make you believe you are better than you think you are. So, I thought it was fun coming up with serious/humourous speeches, that my teammates enjoyed, before facing teams who would crush our intramural championship aspirations.

So that is why this blog is called, The Captain’s Speech.

I like sports. I like talking about sports. I like giving my opinion on sports. My friends think I should write about sports. So, that is why this blog exists. I’d like to think I view sports in a different way from the average person, but then again, many people say that. My writing style will incorporate the following: facts, rants, humour, opinions, analogies, similes, metaphors and anything else that comes from my fingertips to the keyboard. I anticipate some space in my blog reserved for non-sport thoughts because, believe it or not, there is such thing as sports overload.

I’m still deciding on how I want to end my posts. Red Green ended his show with a friendly reminder to “keep your stick on the ice.” I may follow along and do something along those lines, or do something different.

For now, stay tuned…

About Paul

This is the part where I'm supposed to write something interesting about myself and you'll read it and think, "That's not that interesting." So let's not do that and just think about pizza instead, on the count of three. One, two, three. Donuts. Now, wasn't that interesting?
This entry was posted in Life, Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Leading Off

  1. Mon says:

    What has happened to the world we live in!? Paul has written a post and there wasn’t any like or comment on it! :O Hopefully I can fix these problems…..

    Anyhow…this was supposed to be a Sports Blog? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. amandatori says:

    Congrats on two years! I hope I can be as committed to my blog as you are to yours! Thought I’d take the celebration full circle and comment on your very first post. What can I say? I’m sentimental.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Everything You Want Is Wrong | The Captain's Speech

  4. Frederick says:

    2 likes!? Such humble beginnings….

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anonymous says:

    You somehow seem different, yet not so different in your first post. I don’t know how to explain it. You somehow seem innocent. It doesn’t make any sense, lol. This might be the first sports page I’ve ever read, so you are one lucky person. 😀

    Like

  6. shubhada says:

    There’s been some confusion. I THINK I have posted a comment, but there was some problem while posting it, so I don’t know whether my comment got posted or not. I can’t see my comment on this post, so I’m not sure. So technically, this is my second comment on the same post. :/

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh, alright, here’s a comment. Will you comeback now? Jeez, blog for two years and then you take a sabbatical. I have to try and remember to do this after I blog for two years. But, in all seriousness Paul, I hope you enjoying the rest. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

